I believe God can. I believe God will. And even if He doesn’t, I still believe.

Prayer: 1. An act that seeks to activate a rapport with a deity through deliberate communication. 2. A religious practice that takes place in public or in private either communally or by an individual.

“You may ask for anything in My Name and I will do it.” (John 14:13-14)

“Everything is possible for one who believes.” (Mark 9:23)

Yet I pray and nothing happens!

Why doesn’t God answer my prayers? Maybe (and this is hard to admit) it’s because I don’t really believe God will do it! I’ve prayed and prayed and asked God for so much, especially these past three years, but when prayer after prayer appears to have gone unanswered, I have become like the man in Mark 9 who brings his sick son to Jesus. The boy has seizures which throw him to the ground causing him to foam at the mouth and be robbed of his speech, gnashing his teeth and becoming rigid. The boys’ father says to Jesus “IF you can do anything, take pity on us and help us”.

And Jesus must almost laugh! “IF I can?”

I am just like that man. I have been doubting that God can do it. And it’s time to stop. It’s time to believe.

James 1:6-8 says “When you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord. Such a person is double-minded and unstable in all they do.”

  • Prayer is about reminding me that I am not in control.
  • Prayer is about keeping me close to the One who is.
  • Prayer is about His will, not my wants.
  • Prayer is about surrendering to Him.
  • Prayer is about acknowledging that His ways are higher.

Prayer is about saying “I believe with everything in me that God CAN. I believe God WILL. But even if He doesn’t, I will still believe.

Leave a Reply

