Keep Calm and Carry On.

Calm/Still: 1. Not showing or feeling nervousness, agitation, excitement, anger or other emotions. 2. The absence of violent or confrontational activity. 3. Being undisturbed, serene, tranquil. 4. Being at peace. 5. Having freedom from disturbances or commotion.

Social trends are funny things. I read somewhere that old things become new as people discover new ways to present them. The currently popular “Keep Calm and Carry On” posters were produced by the British Government in 1939 as propaganda during the beginning of the Second World War and were intended to be distributed to strengthen and raise the morale of the British public in the event of an invasion or a wartime disaster. The poster was rediscovered in an English bookstore in 2000 and has been used since then as a decorative theme for a range of products from signs to t-shirts to handbags to the obligatory coffee mug!

It seems that everyone, everywhere wants to share the simple message: Keep Calm and Carry On.

And it’s a good message to share. Psalm 27:3 says that, “though an army besiege me, my heart will not fear; though war break out against me, even then I will be confident and trust in You.” The Message translation of the same verse puts it this way: “When besieged, I’m calm as a baby. When all hell breaks loose, I’m collected and cool.”

In Exodus 14:14 it says: “The Lord himself will fight for you. Just stay calm.”

So maybe there’s something in the propaganda posters after all. Or maybe what the British Government was really trying to tell us was “Be Still and Know that I am God.” (Psalm 46:10).

  • Imagine living a life of peace and tranquility in the midst of the turmoil that bubbles around us.
  • Imagine being free from disturbances and commotions and confrontations.
  • Imagine letting God fight for you, on your behalf.

I don’t know about you but that’s the sort of life I imagine. So the question is, how am I going to do it? Well, I’ll probably print off a poster of my own to hang above my computer, I’ll buy the coffee mug and I’ll wear the t-shirt – whatever it takes to remind me that God wants me to keep calm, be still, carry on and know that He is my God. No matter what.

Leave a Reply

