Praise You in the storm

Praise: 1. To say good things about.  2. To extol, admire, commend, honour and worship. 3. Joyful thanking and adoring of God and the celebration of His goodness and grace.

On March 15th 2012 we had the most incredible storm here in Geelong and James Collier (a work colleague) captured these incredible pictures of lightning and rain over Corio Bay that quickly went ‘viral’ on Facebook. Would you believe that someone even had the audacity to send this photo, taken by James, to the local newspaper claiming it as their own!?!

I love storms. These “violent disturbances of the atmosphere” bring thunder, lightning, hail, rain, wind or snow. (Ok, they don’t bring snow in Geelong, but you get the picture!)

I love the power of storms, but sometimes storms scare me. The wind is frightening when it howls through the trees. I hate the sound of the wind and fear smashed windows caused by fallen tree branches. Thunder, when it cracks overhead, simultaneous with the flash of lightning and the flickering of the lights inside, causes me to jump. Rain, as it is driven horizontally by the wind can cause fear as gutters and drains overflow, causing a flood in the backyard as the water has nowhere to go.

The difficulties we face in life are often compared to storms and over the past three years the storm analogy has often come to my mind. Throughout my storm I’ve had plenty of reasons to fear. I’d love to be able to say that I have always trusted God and always praised Him in all circumstances at all times but that would simply not be true. Recently I’ve turned my heart back towards God and have been reminded of the foundations of my faith, including some very important reasons for praising God in the midst of my storm.

The Bible says I should praise God in the storm because God is great and most worthy of being praised. By praising God, I am reminded of His greatness and therefore His power and presence in my life is reinforced. Praising God also transforms the spiritual atmosphere. “When the trumpeters and singers were joined in unison, making one sound to be heard in praising and thanking the Lord, and when they lifted up their voice with the trumpets and cymbals and other instruments for song and praised the Lord, saying, For He is good, for His mercy and loving-kindness endure forever, then the house of the Lord was filled with a cloud so that the priests could not stand to minister because of the cloud, for the glory of the Lord filled the house of God.” (2 Chronicles 5:13-14) The Bible also says He dwells in the holy place where the praises of Israel are offered. (Psalm 22:3)

I want God to dwell in me and with me as I walk through the storms of life. I want a clear manifestation of His blessings, grace, mercy, forgiveness and love. I want to be able to confidently declare that God is my refuge and strength, my helper who is always found in times of trouble. I will not be afraid even though the earth trembles and the mountains topple into the depths of the seas, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with its turmoil (Psalm 46). Therefore, I will praise Him in this storm.

  • Artist: Casting Crowns
  • Song: Praise You in this storm
I was sure by now
God You would have reached down
And wiped our tears away,
Stepped in and saved the day
But once again, I say “Amen”, and it’s still raining
As the thunder rolls
I barely hear Your whisper through the rain
“I’m with you”
And as Your mercy falls
I raise my hands and praise the God who gives
And takes away

And I’ll praise You in this storm
And I will lift my hands
For You are who You are
No matter where I am
And every tear I’ve cried
You hold in Your hand
You never left my side
And though my heart is torn
I will praise You in this storm

I remember when
I stumbled in the wind
You heard my cry to you
And you raised me up again
My strength is almost gone
How can I carry on
If I can’t find You

I lift my eyes unto the hills
Where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord
The Maker of Heaven and Earth

And I’ll praise You in this storm
And I will lift my hands
For You are who You are
No matter where I am
And every tear I’ve cried
You hold in Your hand
You never left my side
And though my heart is torn
I will praise You in this storm


Leave a Reply

