Seasons come and seasons go.

Hope: 1. A feeling of expectation and desire for a certain thing to happen. 2. To look forward to with desire and reasonable confidence. 3. To believe, desire, or trust.

Another April day dawned bright and clear with not a cloud in the sky. When I went out for my run at 6.30 my fingers and face tingled in the brisk air and there was a touch of dew on the front lawns of the houses I ran past. As the sun was coming up, the air began to feel warmer and there was a promise of a beautiful day coming.

Winter seemed to arrive early a few weeks ago but now we are having a few days of unseasonal warm weather. But I’m not complaining! The windows are open, the breeze is warm, the birds are singing and this wonderful combination has me hoping that the warm weather will last. The reality is, it won’t, because we all know that every season must come to an end. As they say, seasons come and seasons go.

Perhaps one of the most well-known verses in the Bible (usually read at funerals) talks about seasons. “For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: There is a time for birth and death, planting and reaping, for killing and healing, destroying and building, for crying and laughing, weeping and dancing,for throwing stones and gathering stones, embracing and parting. There is a time for finding and losing, keeping and giving, for tearing and sewing, listening and speaking. There is also a time for love and hate, for war and peace.” (Ecclesiastes 3)

But what happens when I feel like my season has no end in sight and has been going on for way too long? How does that fit with my Christian beliefs? I know that many of my Christian friends have struggled alongside me as I have tried to keep hope alive throughout this long, dry season. Unanswered prayer and hope deferred doesn’t always fit that well with our beliefs.

So what do I do when I feel as though the sun is never going to shine again? The Bible says “God makes everything happen at the right time. Yet none of us can ever fully understand all He has done, and He puts questions in our minds about the past and the future. I know the best thing we can do is to always enjoy life“.

So that’s it then. It’s quite simple. I have no idea when the breeze will be warm enough to fling open the windows of my heart again but I’ll keep on hoping and praying and looking forward with confidence to a Winter that will end and a Spring that will surely come. And in the meantime, while I wait with expectation, I’ll simply get on with enjoying life!

“Oh, that I might have my request, that God would grant what I hope for”.
(Job 6:8)

Leave a Reply

