Believe again

Believe: 1. To accept something as true, genuine or real. 2. To have a firm conviction as to the goodness, efficacy or ability of something or someone. 3. To have a firm religious faith.

Everyone has tasted troubles and tragedies but thankfully we don’t have to keep swallowing the bitter pills that life hands us from time to time because the same God that remembered Noah (Genesis 8:1) also remembers us. When we get to the place of feeling like we have nothing left, that’s when we realise that having God in our lives is enough.

Throughout the past 3 years I swallowed many different pills, including those of disappointment, anger, broken dreams, unfulfilled promises, unanswered prayers, lack of provision, uncertainty, doubt, confusion (you get the picture) and with each pill I swallowed, I allowed the toxins and poisons of bitterness to build up in my heart. I could no longer see, or feel, let alone believe, that God remembered me.

Thankfully, I sought help. I threw the pills in the rubbish bin and started a new diet. One of daily bread. And I re-read God’s promises to me and I began to believe again. I discovered, once again, that having God in my life is all I need.

I might feel hedged in, pressed in, surrounded, oppressed and troubled on every side and in every way. I might feel like I’m always suffering.
BUT…
I am not distressed, cramped or crushed. I am not demoralized.
I might feel embarrassed and perplexed and unable to find a way out, unsure of what to do.
BUT…
I am not driven to despair and even when I don’t know what to do, I never give up because I know that my God knows what to do;
I might feel persecuted, pursued, hunted down and spiritually terrorized.
BUT…
I am not forsaken, abandoned, deserted or left to stand alone. I know God hasn’t left my side.
I might feel cast down, thrown down and struck down to the ground.
BUT…
I am not destroyed or struck out and when I am knocked down I get back up again. I haven’t been broken. (2 Corinthians 4:8-9)

SO…I don’t look at the troubles I can see now; rather, I fix my gaze on the things that cannot be seen. For the things I see now are temporary and will soon be gone, but the things I cannot see will last forever – these things are eternal.

BECAUSE…Faith is being sure of, and having confidence in what we hope will actually happen and certain of things we do not see. Faith gives us assurance about things we cannot see.

THEREFORE…Next time I find myself tempted to start swallowing those bitter pills again, even when I can’t see the victory in the midst of the turmoil, even when I feel abandoned by God, I will choose to believe. Again. And again.

Leave a Reply

