Don’t throw away confidence

Confidence: 1. The feeling or belief that one can rely on someone or something. 2 A firm trust. 3. The state of feeling certain about the truth of something.

“And so, dear brothers and sisters, we have the confidence to boldly enter heaven’s Most Holy Place because of the blood of Jesus…let us draw near to God and go right into the presence of God with a sincere heart in full assurance of faith, fully trusting Him…let us hold tightly without wavering to the hope we profess, for God can be trusted to keep His promise – He who promised is faithful…So do not throw away your confidence; (because at just the right time) it will be richly rewarded. You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what He has promised.”  Hebrews 10:19-35

Having confidence is a big factor when it comes to being a believer and follower of Jesus Christ. The Bible tells me that because I believe in Him, I can approach Him with confidence – I can pray and seek His will and purpose for my life with a sense of certainty that He will do what He says He will do. I can rely on God. I can trust in God. He is faithful. He will not fail me. He can be trusted to keep His promises.

I have been a Christian for over 25 years and in my head I knew all that. Yet I still threw away my confidence.

Somewhere along the journey of these past three years, I lost confidence in God’s provision. I lost confidence in God’s timing. I lost confidence in God.

Disappointments, unanswered prayers, lack of provision, doubts, fear…confidence was thrown away each time I allowed disappointment and hurt to take hold of me. Confidence was thrown away each time I perceived that God had not heard our prayers. Confidence was thrown away when I checked the bank account and worried about how I was going to put food on the table. Confidence was thrown away when I doubted if God was even real. Every day, confidence was thrown away until I no longer remembered God’s promises.

Over the past few weeks since I made a decision to draw near to God again and to spend time with Him renewing our relationship, I have found a renewed confidence in the security of His promises. Ok, here’s the truth: it hasn’t been easy. It’s been a daily commitment. It’s also been a daily choice.

As I have found myself drawn closer into God’s presence again, I have discovered that confidence in God drives out fear, doubts, anxiety, and worry. Confidence in God allows me to live with a sense of peace. Confidence in God has reminded me of His assurances that ‘yes’, He is faithful; ‘yes’, He has heard my cries; and ‘yes’, He will deliver what He has promised. Confidence in God has empowered me and energised me. Confidence in God is strengthening me. Confidence in God has caused me to go from just believing in Him, to actually believing Him. As my confidence has returned, I have a sense that God is going to make it possible for me to achieve and accomplish the things that He has put before me. As my confidence has returned, I can see that I have been richly rewarded and I am about to receive what He has promised. And I’m so excited!

The journey still has a long way to go but I have confidence now that He will never fail me! That’s the truth.

“Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see.” Hebrews 11:1 NLT

4 thoughts on “Don’t throw away confidence

  1. WOW – not that would tie in nicely with Greater I would think. From what I have read – Big Dreams – Small Steps.
    And now His light shines through more and more every day, in the things you do and say, in your prayers to and for women you have never even met – God’s love shines through you.

Leave a Reply

