God’s clock.

Waiting: 1. The action of staying where one is. 2. The delaying action until a particular time or until something else happens. 3. The act of remaining inactive or stationary.

“Yet those who trust in the Lord, look for Him and wait in expectant hope for Him will gain new strength and power; they will lift their wings and rise up close to God like eagles; they will run and not get tired, they will walk and not become weary or faint.” Isaiah 40:31

I hate waiting. Waiting is one of the most difficult things for me to do. I’m not very good at being inactive and stationary. I like perpetual motion. I like being busy. I like being “on the go”. Whether it’s waiting for the traffic light to turn green, waiting for the end of my shift at work or waiting for an answered prayer, when I’m ‘forced’ to wait I become very impatient and begin to wonder what the hold up is!  And it seems the more I want something, the harder it is to wait. Not only do I get impatient with myself and everyone around me, I get impatient with God and I doubt Him. Not good. He has a clock and it’s not set on the same 24 hour time that I set mine on!

Although the saying “God’s timing is perfect” is such a cliche, I have come to recognise that it’s also very true. It would seem that we have experienced three years of inactivity and now all of a sudden God is in a rush! After almost three years of unemployment Tim finally started a new job last week and then on the weekend we put our house on the market and it sold in three days! God’s clock indeed! I didn’t even have time to wait or get impatient! I have to accept that God has some big picture worked out that I can’t yet see. I have to accept that His timing is, indeed, perfect. These past three years have reminded me that God sees things from a very different perspective to me. He sees the whole picture, not just the little piece that I can see. He knows and wants what is best for me in the grand plan He has created for my life. Of course, when I was hoping, praying and waiting for Tim to get a job, it was easy to forget all of this. The apparent inactivity and delayed action and unanswered prayers made me feel like God had forgotten me and the season I walked through was very dark and very long.

But after going through this season of inactivity and delay and being forced to wait in one place for an extended period of time I wonder if God has allowed or even caused me to wait because He needs me to sit still long enough to listen to what He has to say. Perhaps the delaying action I have experienced is because God wants me to have my strength renewed in Him. Perhaps the inactivity I experienced was God getting me rested so that I’m ready to run again. As I ponder this verse, I love the encouragement and promise it offers! Wait, trust, hope. And He will give me renewed strength and power. Rise, walk, run. And He will not let me get too tired.

Maybe I should consider syncing my clock with Gods’.

Leave a Reply

