Sit still.

Stillness: 1.  The state of no motion or movement. 2. Tranquil silence. 3. The state or an instance of being quiet or calm.

“Be still, and know, recognize and understand that I am God…” (Psalm 46:10)

Tonight I came home to an empty house.

Some people come home to an empty house every night and I’m sure they don’t see any blessing in it – just loneliness and emptiness – but with a husband and four busy kids, an empty house is not something that occurs very often. In fact, I can honestly say I can’t recall the last time I came home to quietness like I am experiencing tonight.

As I sat at the kitchen table eating my dinner, I could actually hear the ticking of three different clocks in three different rooms! Occasionally the thermostat clicked on and the soft whir of the central heating could be heard. But that was it. No cars. No trains. No TV. No phone. Nothing. Just silence. Calm, quiet stillness. No movement or motion.

Bliss for a tired soul.

There was that moment after I finished eating dinner that I realized I had two choices: I could get busy with the packing of boxes for our move next week, put away the dishes in the dishwasher, read and delete emails, pick up the clothes off the floor in my bathroom, do a few more loads of laundry, pay bills on the internet.

Or just sit. And be still. Alone, yet not lonely.

I chose the latter.

I have spent the past two hours listening to instrumental piano music and just allowing the music to refresh my soul. In tranquil stillness. In peace and quiet. No interruptions. No feelings of guilt that I should be doing something else. Just sitting. Reviving and renewing my soul. With God.

I can still hear the clocks ticking, reminding me that all that is good and quiet will soon come to an end. The kids will need picking up. Tim will arrive home. The phone is bound to ring. But for a little moment longer I am going to sit and listen to this music, with God, reflecting on all that is good and wonderful in this crazy, busy, loud, mixed up world.

Leave a Reply

