Where is your faith?

Faith: 1. Complete trust or confidence in someone or something. 2. A strong belief in God or in the doctrines of a religion, based on spiritual beliefs rather than proof.

“If you faint, falter, fail or fall to pieces under pressure or in a time of crisis and trouble, your strength is too small and there wasn’t much to you in the first place!” Proverbs 24:10

“One day Jesus said to his disciples, ‘Let’s go over to the other side of the lake.’ So they got into a boat and set out. As they sailed, Jesus fell asleep. A terrible storm came up suddenly on the lake, so that water poured in and the boat was about to capsize and all who were in it were in great danger. The disciples went and woke Jesus saying, ‘Master, Master, we’re going to drown!’ Getting to His feet he told the wind ‘Silence’ and the waves ‘Quiet down!’ They did and the lake became as smooth as glass. Then He said to His disciples: ‘Why are you so fearful? Why can’t you trust me? Where is your faith’?”  Luke 8:22-25

“Where is your faith?”

If I’m honest, I think this was the biggest question God asked me repeatedly over the past three years as we went through our season of “terrible storm” after “terrible storm”. For three years it felt like I was in danger of drowning while Jesus lay asleep in the boat.

Unfortunately, because I was so busy crying and shaking Him and yelling at Him (“We’re going to drown! We’re going to drown! What are You going to do about it? We’re going to drown!”) I almost missed the moment when He woke up and silenced the wind and the waves and asked me this question: Where is your faith?

When the storm hit us, I trusted what  my eyes saw. I trusted how I felt. I trusted what I heard. I trusted the bank balance. I trusted the rejection letters for every job Tim applied for. I trusted the phone calls from debt collectors wanting money we owed. I trusted in what I believed was the reality of our circumstances. I trusted in the power and strength of the storm because storms like this have been known to kill people.

I fainted. I faltered. I fell to pieces. I failed to hold onto my faith. My strength was so weak that in my storm I lost  my confidence in God and I let go. My strength was small and my faith was weak. Obviously there wasn’t much to my faith in the first place.

But when Jesus calmed the storm with one word, it changed everything. And it reminded me to look for my misplaced faith. It challenged me to believe again. Just one miracle and I was reminded that it was time to once again “live by faith and not by sight”. One word and I remembered I was meant to “fix my eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen”.

So next time I find myself in a storm (because it’s guaranteed to happen!) rather than focusing on my circumstances and what I see and hear around me, I’m going to tighten my life jacket, hang on desperately (to God) and focus my eyes on the sleeping image of Jesus in my boat.  Because if Jesus is asleep in the midst of the storm, obviously everything is totally under control.

He’s proven that to me at least once already.

2 thoughts on “Where is your faith?

  1. Hi Nikki! I am coming over from Unite.

    I can totally relate to this post. My husband has been out of work for over a year, and believe me, it’s no fun. I have stopped telling God what I want, because it doesn’t seem to be his plan. I just have to hang on in the storm, and wait for the sunshine.

    Kind of like you. Thanks for your encouragement!
    Ceil

    1. Oh Ceil I can totally relate. No fun at all. I finally learned that God wanted me to stop telling him what I wanted and to to stop asking for a miracle and to just praise Him anyway.
      I trust that some of my other blog posts might encourage you as most of the “journey back to God” posts relate to my discouragement and disappointment during our season of u employment.
      Thanks for popping over from Unite.
      God bless
      Love
      Nicki

Leave a Reply

