Are you Crossfit fit AND faith fit?

Crossfit: 1. Constantly varied functional movement performed at high intensity that teaches you strength, stamina, flexibility, endurance, power, speed, balance, agility, co-ordination and accuracy, all scaled to suit your ability.

Crossfit has only been around since 2000 but is already the principal strength and conditioning program used by many police academies, tactical operations teams, military special operations units, champion martial artists, and hundreds of other elite Olympic and professional athletes worldwide. It’s also used every day by builders, doctors, students, lawyers, plumbers, teachers, mechanics, nurses, housewives and even grandparents!

Crossfit is for everyone. And I LOVE it.

Recently I read a verse in the Bible and it got me thinking about the correlation between my goal of becoming “Crossfit” fit and being “faith” fit.

1 Timothy 4:8 says: “Take the time and trouble to keep yourself spiritually fit. For physical training is of a certain value, but godliness and spiritual fitness has greater value and is useful and essential for all things and in every way for it holds promise both for this present life and for the life to come.

The Message translation puts it this way:

“Exercise daily in God—no spiritual flabbiness, please! Workouts in the gym are useful, but a disciplined life in God is far more so, making you fit both for today and forever.”

What I love about Crossfit is that it is constantly varied. It is fun (usually when it’s finished!) It is high intensity. And it is designed around functional movements – the things I do everyday. BUT…at the end of my WOD (Workout of the Day), whilst I’ve burned calories, worked up a sweat and toned some muscles, the Bible reminds me that these things hold only some value – what I should be investing my time in is keeping spiritually fit.

And whilst I hate to admit it, I have to be totally honest – I’m not as spiritually fit as I used to be. I’ve become a bit flabby in this area of my life. If my spirit life tried to get up and run 10k, I’d be sweating profusely, gasping for air, reaching for the Ventolin and collapsing in a heap. You might even have to think about calling 000 (911)! And I don’t like that thought.

There are probably a number of reasons I have become spiritually flabby. I think going through a season of disappointment caused me to doubt God and as I pulled back in my relationship with Him, I made poor choices, became lazy and allowed bad habits to creep in. These are the exact reasons I became physically unfit in the first place. Rather than hurt in places I didn’t want to hurt, it was easier to hit the snooze button, roll over and go back to sleep.

God has allowed me to go through situations and circumstances on a day-to-day basis to test me and give my spiritual muscles the opportunity to ‘grow’ and I can tell you that these situations and circumstances are NOT the ones that I would choose!  They cause pain and make muscles that I didn’t even know I had, ache! But the Bible tells me that spiritual fitness is essential for everything I do so right now I declare that I’m no longer going to hit the snooze button.

I want to become faithfit as well as Crossfit fit. I want greater strength, stamina, flexibility, endurance, power, speed, balance, agility, co-ordination and accuracy. And to do this I’m going to apply Crossfit’s motto to my faith fitness journey. Each day I am going to do something that is of high intensity, that is constantly varied and is designed around my functional movements. I’m not sure yet what it looks like but I think I might design a spiritual WOD, set the alarm early and then get up and get going.

And then I’ll post my achievements on the whiteboard for all to see!

7 thoughts on “Are you Crossfit fit AND faith fit?

  1. I love this analogy that you have shared, Nicki! I identify with your love of Crossift methods! And your challenge is a word in season…thank you! I always marvel at God’s patience with us, teaching us the same lesson over and over! We know the blessings of comfort, direction, joy and peace that we experience when we prioritise our time with Him, and are at the peak of our ‘spiritual fitness’. Yet we still allow life to continually ‘get in the way’! After stumbling, falling and losing our spiritual footing, we then humbly attempt the journey back because we know it’s the only way we know true peace and fulfillment. But I find that often after ‘time off’ the motivation is always harder, because we never feel like we’ll get back to where we were. I know it’s all part of the journey, but always wish I hadn’t lost my fitness in the first place! I can’t wait to hear what your WOD’s look like and how you go with them…Maybe they will be training strategies to help us all stay in ‘shape’!

    1. Hi Sharlene
      Thanks so much for taking the time to read and comment on my blog. I hadn’t thought about how hard it is to get motivated again after “time off” but you’re so right.
      I’m not sure what my WOD’s will look like – I now have to get motivated to write them I suppose!
      Nicki

  2. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful post. Your description of an out-of-shape spirit trying to do a 10K is classic! I have not done Cross-fit but related to the idea that, just as the body needs variety to be fit, so does our faith. Just going to church once in a while isn’t going to do it.

    1. Thanks Nick. As a runner, I’m sure you totally understand that feeling of being out of shape! And you’re right – going to church once in a while or reading your bible once in a while or praying once in a while isn’t going to do it at all. Thanks again for reading my blog and taking the time to reply.

Leave a Reply

