I’m standing up for what I believe.

Stand: 1. To assume or maintain an upright position. 2. To have, hold and maintain an attitude or opinion toward a particular issue or argument.

“Stand up for Me among the people you meet (openly declare, speak out freely and confess that you are My worshiper and acknowledge Me before men) and I will stand up for you, acknowledging you before all of God’s angels. But if you pretend you don’t know Me, do you think I’ll defend you?  If you bad-mouth Me out of misunderstanding or ignorance, that can be overlooked. But if you disown and deny and reject and refuse to acknowledge Me before men you will be disowned and denied and rejected and refused acknowledgement in the presence of the angels of God.” 

“Stand up for what you believe in, even if you’re standing alone”(Author unknown)

“If the writing is honest it cannot be separated from the man who wrote it.” (Tennessee Williams)

So…this is one blog post I might wish I didn’t write! But I’m just being honest and standing up for what I believe.

You’re welcome to have your opinion!  And you’re welcome to comment.

This week I got faced with the challenge of needing to respond to someone about what I believe in and I have to admit that I haven’t always been that good (or publicly vocal) about standing up for what I believe when it comes to issues of my faith and Christianity.

I love God. I have a relationship with Jesus Christ. I have been “born again”. I believe in the Bible. I’m a Christian.

These are easy words to say type (now)… but they are not always easy words to speak out publicly when the opportunity presents itself as it did to me this week.

I was placed in a position where I had to stand up for what I believe in regarding homosexuality.

What I find fascinating annoying is that people (friends) will post photos and comments on social media networks urging me, and their other friends, to be accepting and supportive of gay marriage and declaring how two men have a “right” to join together in marriage and raise children together.

Now, whilst I know I must be willing to listen to other people’s opinions and be open-minded about their viewpoints, I just want to say “Hang on a second! I have “rights” in this situation too!

“If you don’t stand up for what you believe in, who will?” (Author unknown)

I have a “right” to stand up for what (and Who) I believe in!

I have a “right” to stand up for own values and morals!

I have a “right” to my convictions.

I have a “right” to hold particular attitudes and opinions!

My faith and my convictions are the foundations upon which I have built my life for the past 25 years so if I don’t stand firm on them now, what does that say about my faith? Or about me? I must stand firm. Even if you don’t agree with me. People will try to knock me down because of what I believe in, but as long as I can get back up, I am showing that I will continue to stand (in an upright position) for what I believe in.

Unfortunately, by declaring my stand on an issue such as homosexuality I risk being attacked, abused and vilified. I risk losing friends. I risk offending people. I risk having to wonder worry about what people might think of me for having such a belief. I have gay friends. What will they think? What will they say?

But in that moment when I get asked for my stand on an issue I don’t want to pretend I don’t know God, but I want to openly declare and confess that I worship Him and choose Him as my Lord and Saviour. And I believe what the Bible says. On everything.

Just because I will now worry about what people might think of me for what I believe in, I still choose to take a stand. I will not disown or deny or reject or refuse to acknowledge God and His presence in my life. I will stand up for what I believe in, even if that means standing alone, because I for one don’t want to stand for nothing and end up falling for anything.

“So then, take your stand! Stand firm, standing your ground! Fasten truth around your waist like a belt. Put on the body armor of God: the breastplate of righteousness”. (Ephesians 6:14)

3 thoughts on “I’m standing up for what I believe.

  1. I feel very strongly about this too, of course about your subject matter, making a stand against homosexuality, which is 100% correct, but more so about the fact that we all need to stand by our convictions. They are personal, but within the confines of biblical truth, always having and maintaining the word of God as our standard. I have lost my job this week by making a stand as the pastors assistant against the senior pastor, not in rebellion or out of a wrong attitude or motive, but just by sticking to what I believe to be a strong conviction about a particular topic in the bible that we disagree on. Although I believe we can still work side by side and continue to build His Kingdom, the senior pastor disagrees and has asked me to step down from leadership. I cannot back down from what I see as Gods truth in the word and feel I need to stand by my convictions, so much so that I am prepared (as demonstrated) to lose a good job in ministry and start a ‘new’ life for my family and I. We have been faced with tough decisions this week in light of this, but my wife and I are sold out to God and feel we are honouring Him by standing up for ourselves and His truth and won’t roll over just because a man says we should. We, like the early apostles, would prefer to obey and honour God that give in to mans opinion. Point: the fear of God always takes precedent over the fear of man! Amen to your topic, amen to your strong stance!

Leave a Reply

