Hurry up and Wait

Hurry: 1. To move or act with great haste.

Wait: 1. The action of staying where one is or delaying action until a particular time or until something else happens. 2. The act of remaining inactive or stationary.

“Haste makes mistakes. How much more will hasty feet miss the way! If you are too eager, you will miss the road.” Proverbs 19:2

I hate waiting. I hate being stationary. Remaining inactive for too long or delaying action seems like such a waste of time! After all, I’ve got places to go and people to see!

I’d be hopeless in the Army because I’m told that “hurry up and wait” is the Army’s unofficial motto! (“That’s all we ever do. Rush to stand in line somewhere. Then we wait. Then we hurry up to stand in line somewhere else and then we wait all day long. Hurry up and wait! That’s the Army for you.”)

My desire for perpetual motion has, in the past, earned me the nickname “Energizer bunny” because I’m always moving around and doing everything in a hurry! I just keep on going and going and going (at high speed) until I remember that I do have an “off” switch!

The problem with always having this sense of urgency and a mentality of “go, go, go” is that it can affect (and infect) everyone else. When I’m always rushing about in a hurry I’m creating an atmosphere around me in which I justify taking shortcuts and sacrificing on quality just so I can get the job done quicker and make it to the finish line faster, before everyone else. (As though I’ve got something to prove by being first in line.) I know it’s important sometimes to do things quickly, but it’s equally important that I learn how to do things efficiently and effectively. And properly. And finish what I started. Well.

I finally figured something out! Although the pressure for immediacy of action appears to be strong, I put that pressure on myself! And I don’t need to! There are some things in my life that just can’t be hurried up and I shouldn’t always be tempted to do things hastily or impulsively – even though I’d sometimes like to – because when I do, chances are I’m going to miss the road. I’m going to walk the wrong path. I’m going to miss the way that God wants me to go.

“Fools rush in”.

“Look before you leap”.

“Patience is a virtue”.

Groan!

But God!!! (whining voice) I HATE WAITING!!!

Yet I know I must.

Because haste makes mistakes.

So now, as part of my journey of re-discovering God, I’m learning the “waiting” side of life. The “slow down” aspect. The “stop and smell the roses” way of living.  I’m learning (albeit very slowly) how to take time to stop and think before I speak (wish I’d learned that lesson about 30 years ago!) to pray, to ponder and to deliberate before giving my response or suggesting my solution or offering my opinion or advice. I’m trying to have a “don’t be in such a hurry all the time” sort of attitude. I’m attempting to practice how to wait. And rest. Patiently (without complaining). After all, “it’s useless to rise early and go to bed late, and work your worried fingers to the bone. Don’t you know He enjoys giving rest to those He loves?”  (Psalm 127:)

2 thoughts on “Hurry up and Wait

Leave a Reply

