Under Pressure

Pressure: 1. The continuous physical force exerted on or against an object by something in contact with it. 2. An attempt to persuade or coerce (someone) into doing something.

I’ve discovered that there can be a certain amount of pressure in writing a blog. Once started, it’s not something I can just stop doing. After all, people are (apparently) reading what I’m writing and if I stop writing they might be disappointed! I might miss out on some valuable new followers! People might not comment on my posts if I’m not updating my blog daily weekly regularly!

I’m here to say I’m not bowing in to pressure! I’m not going to be coerced or forced into doing something (such as writing a blog post every day) by anyone!

Hmmmm…but here’s a thought…the only person putting pressure on me to write my blog is…well…me!

Laugh Out Loud! Oh how ridiculously fickle and proud is my thinking?!

I have just returned from an incredible experience travelling around parts of America and Canada for the past 3 weeks and before I went I promised myself I was not going to feel the “pressure” to keep up with writing my blog while I was away. Before I left I didn’t “do the right thing” and write a blog post letting you, my readers, know that “I’ll be back soon” or that I was just  “taking a small break”. I just stopped writing. And took a break. And now I’m back. Refreshed and energized and ready to see what God has planned for me.

Psalm 119:143 says: “As strain, pressure and stress bears down on me, I find joy in your commands.” Another translation says: “Even though I have troubles and hard times, Your commandments give me great joy.”

Rather than faint, fall over or fail because of the pressures I usually place on myself, I am going to find joy and delight in doing what God has asked me to do. When He has asked me to do it. I believe that includes writing and sharing my journey on my blog, but I’m not going to pressure or coerce myself into a writing schedule just for the sake of new followers and nice comments.

Although (secretly) both of those things would be really awesome!

One thought on “Under Pressure

Leave a Reply

