Gaining Perspective

Perspective: 1. A point of view. 2. An objective assessment of a situation. 3. The appearance of objects or situations to the observer.

My friend updated her iPhone tonight, installing the latest version of Apple software. But she forgot to do one important thing. She forgot to back up her data first on her computer. Well, technically she didn’t forget. She said she didn’t know she had to do this.

Yep, you guessed it. She had the newest version of software on her phone. And no data. No contacts. No music. No notes. Nothing. Her phone was empty and she was devastated. She became totally unglued. As I would too.

Unfortunately I had no advice, nothing to offer other than sympathetic words offered over Facebook. Yeah, really meaningful, I know! We don’t live on the same continent as each other so I couldn’t even visit her and provide her with a hug and some Tim Tams (Australian chocolate biscuits) to make her forget about this catastrophe. I had to just send her a smiley face and remind her she is loved.

I sent her a message reminding her not to let this situation cause her to become unglued. She replied “Too late!  I’m on the phone on hold with Apple. And the hold music is Don’t worry, be happy”!

Isn’t that ironic!

How often I find that in the moments when I want to scream and yell and have a temper tantrum like a two year old, I find myself, all of a sudden, singing along to a catchy little ditty such as this! Or someone sends me a smiley face and an “it will all work out” message and that makes me want to scream even louder!

My friend’s iPhone drama reminded me about the issue of perspective and of how I see things. Every day I get faced with situations that tempt me to get totally unstuck and unglued and I need to stop, take a deep breath, stand back and look at things so as to gain some much needed perspective. When I’m in the middle of a crisis situation (and let’s face it, losing all your data is a BIG crisis!), it’s hard to see clearly. I find it hard to look at things from a different angle or from a different point of view. I don’t see things clearly or objectively and that is what I must try to do.

Lysa TerKeurst in her book Unglued says “perspective is the key to not coming unglued.” She says that perspective helps us see the current circumstances we face from a new vantage point and helps us process future things we might face in a calmer, more grounded way by developing in us a new way of thinking.

The reality is, no-one has died. No-one is hurt. It is just a phone and some missing contact details and notes and messages.

The Message translation of the Bible says: “Don’t shuffle along, eyes to the ground, absorbed with the things right in front of you. Look up, and be alert to what is going on around Christ – that’s where the action is. See things from His perspective.” (Colossians 3:2)

One of the benefits of gaining a new and different perspective, especially when I do so through the eyes of God, is that I will be able to face things that are out of my control and yet not act out of control. And that’s a much better viewpoint.

Because, after all, “if this is the worst thing that happens today, it’s still a good day”.

10 thoughts on “Gaining Perspective

  1. Love love love!!! Could you perhaps be writing about a mutual friend of ours who shares the same name as one of us? Hmmm…

    Seriously, I loved this. The key is perspective.

    “Every day I get faced with situations that tempt me to get totally unstuck and unglued and I need to stop, take a deep breath, stand back and look at things so as to gain some much needed perspective.”

    If I can only remember this in the midst of it all!

    Thanks for doing the Blog hop Nicki! Love you!

Leave a Reply

