It’s time to dream again

Dream:  A series of thoughts, images, and sensations occurring in a person’s mind during sleep.

“He might speak in a dream or in a vision at night when people are sound asleep in their beds” (Job 33:15)

This morning at church I had one of those “aha” moments when I realized I’ve given up on one of my dreams! How did that happen? Why? When did that happen? When did I attach the label to myself that says I’m “too old” for that dream?

Because it’s a lie! I’m not too old to keep dreaming!

Pastor Zoran spoke at church today about not giving up on our dreams. He shared the story of a lady affectionately dubbed “Grandma Moses”, an American folk artist who died in 1961, aged 101. What made her life so incredible is that, in her late 70’s, she was spurred to take up painting when arthritis in her hands made it too painful to continue making the embroidered pictures she enjoyed making for family and friends. Because she dared to dream a new dream her exhibitions were so popular in the 1950’s that they broke attendance records all over the world. At age 88, she was named “Young Woman of the Year” and awarded the Philadelphia’s Moore College of Arts first honorary doctorate degree.

One dream died. Another dream was born because she didn’t allow herself to be labelled as “too old”.

Just because one dream has died does not mean I can’t give birth to another dream.

“You are never too old to set a new goal or dream a new dream” C.S.Lewis

It might look a little different, it might look quite similar. But I must pick up my dream and allow God to birth something new again.

Unfortunately, there’s a small stumbling block to my dream.

I’m afraid that my dream is just my imagination running wild and carrying me further away from reality into some bizarre parallel adventure that is so far removed from truth that it’s embarrassing to admit I even dream of going there!

Maybe I’m just day dreaming after all and my dream isn’t really from God. It’s just me wishing this was a dream that might one day become a reality.

When I try to work out how to put my dream into action I feel inadequate and embarrassed, so, I freak out, use countless excuses and do nothing. And let the dream die. Again.

But I’m at a turning point. I’ve drawn a line in the sand. It’s a new day. I’ve stepped into a new season in my life. A new chapter has begun. Chapter 1 has been good, but now it’s time for Chapter 2. And I’m not too old.

It’s time. This is the time. The time is now.

Ecclesiastes 3: says “There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens.”

In Chapter 2 of my life it’s time for birth, for planting, for healing, for building, for laughing, for dancing, for gathering, for embracing, for keeping, for mending, for speaking up, for loving and for peace.

And it’s time for dreaming.

  • No more making excuses. Although my dream may seem insurmountable and impossible, although it may feel like it’s just my imagination, I’m going to keep going anyway.
  • No more living in fear about what people (might) say about my dream. No more of being afraid of failure and of (potentially) not being good enough. If I let fear stop me then I’m surrendering to a life that I don’t want to live – a life of regret for not pursuing my dream.
  • No more analyzing and planning and trying to work out how to make my dream happen. I’ll put things into action and I’ll do whatever it takes but I’ll take my hands off and let God work out the details.
  • No more using the excuse “some day”. Some day is not on any calendar I’ve ever seen and the longer I wait for some day, the longer I will have to wait. I’m going to start now. Anywhere. Somewhere. And with anything. Because doing so is far better than sitting around waiting for some day to roll around.
  • No more labelling myself and saying “if only”. It’s a lie to believe that “if only” I was younger, prettier, more talented, had more connections that my dream might come true.
  • No more living in my comfort zone. The only reason I’m living in this place of comfort is because, well, it’s comfortable! And fear of failure keeps me here. Fear of being laughed at for being too old stops me from moving out of this zone. Analysing and planning and making excuses prevents me from moving.

But you know what, if it’s good enough for Grandma Moses, it’s good enough for me.

It’s time. Time to dream again.

“Now all glory to God, who is able (by the action of His mighty power that is at work within me), to carry out His purpose and accomplish infinitely more than I might ask or think. He is able to do exceedingly abundantly, far over and above all that I dare ask or think – beyond my highest prayers, desires, thoughts, hopes, or dreams. My God is able to do anything – far more than I could ever imagine or guess or request, even in my wildest dreams!” (Paraphrased from Ephesians 3:20-21)

14 thoughts on “It’s time to dream again

  1. Thanks – I needed this today! I am praying God would reveal the dreams of my heart that I know are there but have been buried for far too long. He might need an earth digger machine….but I know they are there. 🙂

  2. Thanks, Nicki – WOW! I was asking the Lord if I should participate in the next OBS based on the “Greater” book. This week I was talking to a girl at church about doing the “Unglued” Bible study and mentioned the next one was on the book, “Greater”. She said she is currently reading it and I could borrow it when she’s done. I feel like that was my answer – LOL! I am a little afraid to read it for fear of what God might stir in my heart, but I desperately want to find the dreams again that I have stuffed deep down inside of me. NO FEAR! I will choose to walk forward and dream again whatever God puts in my heart.

    1. Yay Susan! Keep dreaming! I have the biggest dreams in my head and heart and sometimes they scare me! But I guess if they didn’t scare me, I’d probably already be doing them and then they wouldn’t be dreams!
      I’m thrilled you’ve decided to do the “Greater” OBS!
      Bless you.

  3. I came across this, this morning and WOW! I feel like God brought me to your blog for a reason. I never comment on blog posts I read, and I realize this was written 2 or so years ago. However, I had to let you know that it meant something to others who are now randomly coming across it online. Very perfect and very true. 🙂

Leave a Reply

