God is never late

Time: 1. The nonspatial continuum measured in terms of events which succeed one another from past through present to future. 2. The measuring system used to sequence events.

One thing I learned over the last three years during our very long and difficult journey is that whilst it is true that God is never late…He certainly missed a lot of opportunities to be early!

“But do not forget this one thing: With God, one day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like one day. God isn’t late in keeping His promises, as some understand and measure lateness. He does not delay and is not tardy or slow about what He promises. Instead He is extraordinarily patient with you, restraining Himself on account of you, holding back the End, not wanting anyone to be lost or to perish. He’s giving everyone space and time to change and offering everyone the chance to turn to repentance.” (1 Peter 3:8-9)

If I had one more person say “God is just teaching you to be patient” I think I would have screamed! Loudly!

Seriously?! You don’t think I knew that God was trying to teach me something?

Maybe it was patience. Maybe it wasn’t!

I knew that God would do things IN HIS TIME and I knew that His timing and ways would be perfect.

But it didn’t make waiting any easier.

And it didn’t teach me how to be patient either! Just in case you were wondering!

Day after day, week after week, month after month, then year after year I felt as though the clock was about to strike midnight and an old day would end and a new day would begin.

Thankfully, for us, that did happen in March of this year. But it took a whole lot longer than I hoped expected it would or believed it should.

In fact there were days that I felt physically sick waiting for God to show up.

As Sue Boliter writes in her blog: “The desire seemed to be at the top of a slippery rope of hope.  The desire was just out of reach.  Hope continued to show me it was there, but I was unable to attain the grip needed to reach the top of desire. Fulfillment of the hope was just dangling in front of me saying wait a little longer.  When we can see the hope, but it alludes us, it can be exasperating. Faith whispered for me hold on to hope. Don’t let go of the rope, you will attain your heart’s desire! However, disappointment turned into discouragement…”

This explains exactly how I felt each time I prayed. And how I felt each time God didn’t answer my prayers.

Disappointment turned into discouragement which turned into despair and then into doubt and disbelief.

My continuum of time seemed to have moved from the past and stopped at the present. I could see the future up ahead but time was standing still.

I sat waiting for God to answer move do something show me what was up ahead for our future. And day by day I slipped back down the rope towards disbelief.

Maybe God wouldn’t answer our prayers.
Maybe God didn’t care.
Maybe God wasn’t even there after all.

Apparently with God (as I learned the hard way), some things just take time. And it became obvious to me very quickly that God uses a vastly different measuring system to the one I use for the sequence of events in my life.

So next time I’m about to yell at God and remind Him that’s running late, I’ll remind myself of what it says in the Bible:

“This vision is for a future time. The message I give you is about a special time in the future and it waits for the time I have appointed. This message is about the end – about what is going to happen, and all of it will come true. It might take awhile and seem slow in coming, but just be patient and wait for it. You can be sure that time will come; it will not be late or delayed but will happen when I want it to.” (Habakkuk 2:3)
 
Nicki Edwards, Day to Day Trusting God.
4 thoughts on “God is never late

  1. Yes, I too hate that advice to “just have patience” and I’ve given that piece of advice to many myself. I know I have to wait on God timing, yet I do get to that place of discouragement sometimes. I have let that slip to deep despair before. I been in a dark pit. Yet, I know that God is faithful to His Word. I don’t always know His ways or His timing, but I can know that in His time He will bring the promise. I must hold on! I just must.

  2. And that is probably what is meant when someone says “I’m at the end of my rope”. Never really saw it that way before but it certainly makes mores sense now. And who’s idea was it anyway to grease that rope – life is hard enough.

    Nicki – I am so happy you have gotten thru this time in the desert and come out stronger on the other side. May you continue to see God’s plan for your life clearly. Blessings my sweet friend.

    Catherine

  3. Hi Nicki, So happy you are on the other side of the victory and the waiting is over. I am glad my words could help put into words how you were feeling. We have all been there. God may not be early (although that might be nice from time to time) ; ), but He is always on time! You are a blessing!

Leave a Reply

