The Hidden Scar

I’m doing something new on my blog that I haven’t done before! I’ve asked my friend Donna Bostick to guest post here today.

I met Donna in person on my recent trip to America after we had met online! Yes, I really did travel to the other side of the world to meet some people I’d made friends with on the internet!! And yes I do realise this is something we tell our children NEVER to do! But if I took my own “stranger danger” advice, then  Donna and I would never have met!

I have been impacted by Donna’s story for one reason – it’s nothing like mine. On the face of it, we have very little in common. I’m 42. Donna is not. I’m married. Donna is not. I have children. Donna does not. I live in Australia. Donna (sadly) does not.

But scratch the surface a little deeper and we actually do have a lot in common.

Both Donna and I have a new-found passion for sharing our stories through this media of blogging. Both of us have stories to tell. On one hand our stories are nothing alike, and yet, on the other hand, they are. Because both Donna and I write about a God that desires us to know Him more intimately. We write about our relationship with God. And we write honesty and transparently about the journey this relationship has taken us on. Donna and I also love to party and entertain. We love to laugh. And we love to make others laugh.

Donna is very generously giving away a copy of Karen Ehman‘s new book ” Let.It.Go.” For a chance to win this book, please share your comments below.

[“Let.It.Go.” will be the next book we study with Melissa Taylor’s Online Bible Studies following our book study of “Greater” by Ps Steven Furtick.]

Please make Donna feel welcome. And remember to check out her blog sometime. If you’re visiting here from Karen or Donna’s blog, I sincerely thank you for taking the time to stop by and read about my journey back to God. Feel free to follow me!

And now, here’s Donna!

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” (John 14:27, NIV).

I sat nervously in the waiting room, chatting and joking around with my friend about the upcoming “cocktail” that I would receive or as I liked to call it – “my happy juice”!   It was to be a simple surgery – 30 minutes at best – one of those out-patient types on my knee – a tear on my lateral cartilage needed repairing along with removal of scar tissue and arthritis from a previous surgery.

We waited … waited …. and waited some more …. for what seemed like hours.  Approximately, fifteen to thirty minutes passed by and the nurse appeared and called me by name.  I made my way back to the pre-op area and was given last minute instructions from the nurse.  Those last minute instructions included the removal of all jewelry.  So one by one, I removed my earrings, my watch and finally the small gold rope chain around my neck and slide them into my purse.  And I can’t forget the pregnancy test …. yes . . . . a pregnancy test for a single fifty-something –year-old.  My mom would be proud that it came back negative!

As I removed the necklace, the three inch – once hidden scar – peeked out as I glanced into the mirror.  It was an old scar – an old war wound – one received as I battled thyroid cancer ten years earlier.

Not only was it my hidden scar – it was my remembrance of God’s faithfulness – my trophy!  As I rubbed my fingers across the scar, I automatically began reminiscing of God’s faithfulness through my journey of cancer, as my diagnosis changed three times within a week after the first surgery.  The first diagnosis was no cancer as half of my thyroid was removed.  The second diagnosis was cancer – the fastest growing cancer one could have and the third diagnosis still being cancer – but a slow growing cancer. And with the second surgery, the second half of my thyroid was deemed to be cancer free.

A remembrance of God’s faithfulness, as I was able to experience God not only as my source of peace – my Jehovah Shalom but also as my Healer– my Jehovah Rapha. I would not have been able to experience God as my Peace without experiencing and recognizing the flooding of my heart and mind with His peace – a peace that passes all understanding as His word tells us in Philippians 4:6-7, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

Nor would I have been able to experience or know God as my Healer without recognizing His healing in my life according to His promise in Exodus 15:26, “He said, ‘If you listen carefully to the Lord your God and do what is right in his eyes, if you pay attention to his commands and keep all his decrees, I will not bring on you any of the diseases I brought on the Egyptians, for I am the Lord, who heals you.’”

As I completed my pre-op instructions and crawled into the bed, backless gown and all, my friend Cindy came and prayed for me as I waited for “my happy juice”.  Once again, I was flooded with His peace as Cindy prayed His word over me.  Once again, I was reminded of His faithfulness.

Are you ready to know God as your Jehovah Rapha – your spiritual Healer, your physical Healer, your mental Healer or your emotional Healer?  Or you Jehovah Shalom – your Peace?  Or how about your Jehovah Jireh – the God who provides? Are you ready to experience and acknowledge His faithfulness to you?  Are you ready to know God in new and exciting ways?

Lord, we do want to know you in new and exciting ways.  Please reveal yourself and your character to us so that we can get to know who you really are. Cause us to dive into your Word so that we can get to know you.  Use our experiences to reveal yourself to us. Draw us closer to your heart.  In Jesus’ name. Amen.

35 thoughts on “The Hidden Scar

  1. I witnessed His perfect peace that surrounded you the day of surgery! You’re the real deal and blessed by your friendship! ~Cindy~

  2. Thank you for that wonderful testimony. I needed a little reminding of our Jehovah Shalom, and Jehovah Rapha, and last of all Jehovah Jireh. May He continue to keep His healing hand on you, and Nikki I look forward to reading your blogs as well. Have a great day!!!!!

  3. Isn’t is awesome that we serve a God that doesn’t just sit on the throne, but takes a personal interest in our lives, our hurts, our happiness, and even takes the time to bless us through healings! Praying your recovery is speedy Donna, and that He continues to bless you and Nickie and through you two, to bless others!

    1. G’day “sunflowersathome”! I wish I knew your name!
      Thank you so much for reading Donna’s awesome blog post and for taking the time to comment.
      Thank you also for your encouragement that God would continue to work through Donna and I as we share our words to bless others.
      With love
      Nicki

  4. Yes, Donna, I am ready to know God as my Jehovah Rapha – my spiritual Healer, my physical Healer, my mental Healer, my emotional Healer! My Jehovah Shalom – my Peace! My Jehovah Jireh – the God who provides! I am ready to experience and acknowledge His faithfulness to me! I am ready to know God in new and exciting ways! I love you girls! Thanks for sharing Donna!

  5. HI Donna,
    Thank you for sharing your journey through cancer with God. I haven’t had cancer, but have experienced God as my healer, my peace and have learned to trust Him.. I love your writing. Keep the faith. Lynne

    1. Hey Lynne,

      I miss you!!! Thank you for your kind words. And so happy that you too have experienced God has your healer and peace. It’s through our journeys that we learn to trust Him with all that we are.

      Love ya

  6. Thanks for sharing Donna! When I read the end about Jehovah Rapha my healing God my heart skipped a beat! Yes I want to be healed spiritually, physically, emotionally… Excited to see what that kind of freedom looks like in me! =)

Leave a Reply

