I see camels

Thanks for stopping and taking a few minutes to read my latest blog post – this one written by my friend Vicki Simpson.

I met Vicki over 18 years ago when she was billeted to stay in our home, just after she started her travelling ministry and ministered at our church in Geelong. We hit it off straight away and I’ve been so blessed to call her my friend all these years. I’ve watched her Walk The Walk and Talk The Talk. And man, can she talk! 

Vicki describes herself as an “Aussie-Italian hybrid, on-fire, road warrior travelling preacher chick”. She and her hubby Damien live in Sydney Australia and Vicki is part of the ministry team at C3 Oxford Falls. She has been travelling and sharing the love of Jesus for 20 years. Vicki is currently writing her first e-book called “The Camels Are Coming” so it’s exciting that we get a sneak peak of what the book might be all about.

I’d love you to check out her blog and consider subscribing – she’s got lots to say and I personally love hearing her ‘voice’ and reading each post. I’m sure you’ll be blessed by Vicki as much as I have been over the years.

So without further ado…here’s Vicki!

I see camels.

Honestly, I do see camels and I see them heading your way!

Before you think I’m on drugs, let me explain.

I see camels with my spiritual eye and I see them delivering the fulfillment of God’s promise to you.

Isaac “lifted his eyes and looked, and there the camels were coming.” (Genesis 24:63)

Those camels were carrying Rebekah, the future Mrs Isaac, and they were only coming because someone had sent them out in the first place…Isaac’s father, Abraham.

Abraham had a promise from God that his descendants would be more numerous than the stars in the sky or the sand on the seashore.

I find that promise beautiful and poetic.  However, Abraham wasn’t content with poetry.  He wanted to see his promise materialize.  It was looking like it would never happen, (Isaac was 40 and dateless), so Abraham did something.

He sent out camels!

Why?

Abraham sent out camels to collect Isaac’s bride…a bride he hadn’t seen and had no proof even existed.

This is pre-internet folks.  Abraham couldn’t post an update on Facebook … “Wife required – All Applicants Considered”.

All he had was God’s word on it.  So, he acted like it was true.

Abraham’s faith took the form of 10 camels (oh, and a dowry thrown in for good measure).

I can relate.  I was in my early 40’s and single.  I had been on-fire for God since I was 19 and a full-time, preacher chick since I was 30.

God had promised and confirmed, over and over, that He had a husband for me.  I had prayed and prayed that my life partner would show up until I was blue in the face.

After a number of disappointments I had put up “the closed for business” sign on my heart when I was in my mid-thirties.

I figured if God wanted me married, He would have to do it.  Bring that man to me and put a ring on it.  No risk and no rejection.

I went on serving the Lord and…nothing changed.

Many of us are so afraid of works of the flesh that we don’t do works of faith.

One day, the penny dropped! I needed to send out some camels!

What did my camels look like?

Here are a just a few of many:

1.  “Lose weight” camel – to look hot in that wedding dress

2.  “Grow hair” camel – so I could wear a tiara on the big day.

3.  “Talk to single guys again” camel – and don’t treat them like aliens from

outer space.

4.  “Buy resource on marriage” camel

5.  “Stop confessing all the good ones are taken” camel.

I sent out camels and less than a year later, my camels returned carrying a tall, dark and handsome architect named Damien!

We will be celebrating our 7th anniversary in just a few weeks time.

This is not some strange, camel doctrine I’m peddling. Neither is it a formula for single people but it is a revelation that changed my life.

If your dream has stalled, is it time to send out a few camels?  I do see them coming, but someone needs to send them out first.

20 thoughts on “I see camels

  1. Vicki,

    You have no idea what a great blessing this is for me right now! As I try to discern for sure the direction God wants me to be going in this season of my life, keeping a dream alive or even finding what that dream is, is a huge part of that process. But taking that first step of faith no matter what the direction may be is always crucial.
    Sending out the camels – just what I need to do but I don’t have any idea what those camels will look like.
    But as soon as God lets me know – I will be marching their butts out into that desert!

    The Greater study that I’m doing with Nicki just started and the first chapter is all about finding our passion and finding what God has called us to do and then taking what we have now and going forward (sending out the camels).

    Thank you so much for your beautiful words of wisdom.

    Blessings,
    Catherine

  2. “Many of us are so afraid of works of the flesh that we don’t do works of faith”. BOOM! That one went off in my spirit! Loved this post! I think this will lead my ‘take a leap of faith’ camel or my ‘don’t give up on my dreams’ camel.
    This ties in PERFECTLY with our ‘Greater’ study by Steven Furtick through P31.
    I’ll be subscribing to yours and Nicki’s blogs, God bless you and thank you for being submissive to the Holy Spirit and writing this.
    God bless you over and above what you ask, expect, or think!
    Robin J.P.

  3. Thank you for Vicki’s guest post. It certainly spoke to me today though the need of a spouse is not my present focus. I am currently in the Greater study, and this post seems a perfect fit. God will move and He will answer.

    1. Hi Deanne,

      So glad my post blessed you.

      Seems a common theme in these comments that this post ties in well with your Greater study. I so love that. I had started writing on something totally different and felt to change it. There you go, must have been God! 😀

  4. Awesome blog!! Loved it! Ps.still think about the streeeetttccchhhh sermon you preached at bayside all those years ago!! Haha =)

  5. Thank you for sharing Vickie ‘s blog Nicki. Currently I have no dreams and no passion. I am not looking for a pity party I am just letting you know where I stand in this point of my life. I want to be GREAT for my Lord and for the good of his Kingdom. So, that is why I am here. I am in a desert crisis praying for relief. I have faith that God will orchestrate a series of events and people that will bring me out of this desert. What are your suggestions for my camels? I think I need to call a herd of camels for me and my family.

    1. Melisa I’m sorry you don’t feel like you have any dreams or passion at the moment. But I think you actually DO!
      Your dream and your passion is to be GREAT for God and His Kingdom! Right now you might not know exactly what that looks like but praise God you have faith – faith that God can do whatever it takes and bring whoever it takes to get you out of that desert you feel as you you are living in.
      As for suggestions of what sort of camels to send out? Honestly, I’m not sure.
      Maybe it’s the camel of serving in your local church.
      Maybe it’s the camel of telling others about how good God is in your life.
      Maybe it’s the camel of stopping confessing and believing that you have no dreams and visions.
      Thanks for taking the time to comment here.
      I look forward to hearing from you as you continue our study of “Greater”. I believe God is going to bring the camels to you so that you can send them out.
      Keep trusting and loving Him.
      God bless you
      Love
      Nicki

  6. What a fabulous visualization for our dreams….sending out camels. I LOVE it!!! Now, how many should I send out? Hmmm ; )

    1. Speaking of visualisation Teresa, I used to have pictures of camels in my office, someone sent me a toy camel, I had one as my screen saver. It certainly doesn’t hurt to have a bit of visual reinforcement!

  7. Thanks so much Vicki! Love it!!! I’ve sent out a few camels but maybe I need to send out a few more and a dowry LOL Up the faith a bit. Great illustration and looking forward to the book!

Leave a Reply

