Say goodbye to mediocrity

Start: 1. The point in time or space at which something has its origin. 2. The inception or onset of something new. 3. To begin, commence or initiate something.

“Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to win the prize…Therefore I do not run uncertainly, like someone running without a definite aim. I run like someone that has a goal. I run with purpose in my step.” (1 Corinthians 9:24-26)

I have become one of those people. Yep, the ones that get up early in the morning and pound the pavements in the dark before heading off to work. I love running. But as much as I love running, I have to admit that I’m not that good! I don’t have a single fast twitch muscle fiber in my whole body therefore I’m a “slow and steady wins the race” kind of runner, NOT a sprinter! I start off at one pace (slow) and I just keep on going. Which is actually quite funny given that the only thing in my life that I do slowly is run! I think God has a sense of humor!

Because I’m more of a slower, long distance type of runner, the only time I’ve ever used a starting block was at school when I had to line up for the compulsory 100m or 200m sprint in which I always came last! However, even though I won’t ever line up in the starting blocks of an Olympic sprint event, when I take that first step out my front door, or that first step in a fun run, I run with purpose. When I am training for a fun run I have an aim and a goal. My goal is definitely not to run fast enough to qualify to run the New York Marathon, but it is my goal to run 10ks in under an hour whenever I run 10ks. My goal is not to beat anyone and win a prize for my age group, but it is my goal to complete a half-marathon one day (I’m not counting the one I’ve already done because I didn’t run the whole way).

This week marks the start of Melissa Taylor’s Online Study of Ps Steven Furtick’s book Greater. And I have to say, just one chapter into it and I’m hooked! I love it when I read a book and when reviewing each chapter I see more words highlighted than not! This book has been like that so far.

What stood out the most for me was this:

God wants me to dream big and have big goals. His vision and plan for my life is greater than what I currently imagine. He has planned things even bigger and better and greater than I have already seen and achieved! Yes, the things God has purposed for my life are considerably above the normal or the average!

BUT I’m stuck in the starting blocks.

I’ve become complacent, living at a level of mediocrity where I have allowed some big dreams to fade. Rather than believing God’s best for my life, I’m still believing the labels I have placed on myself (too old, too fat, too loud, too opinionated, too blunt). Rather than dreaming big, I’ve allowed opportunities to slip past me.

But as Pastor Steven says: “Baseline living is not okay.”

And baseline living is where I’ve been at for a long time now. After living for three years in a ‘desert-like’ situation, running wasn’t even on my agenda, let alone lining up at the starting blocks ready to sprint off, racing towards the big dreams and visions I used to have for my life! It was enough that I was even standing again, let alone running. After three long years of discouragement and disappointment, it is no wonder my dreams have shriveled and died.

Deep down I know I am meant for more than I am currently living. Yet I have ended up confused and frustrated and settling for less – settling for a life of mediocrity. After I recently turned back to God I still believed that my lack of faith had disqualified me from even lining up at the starting blocks. And now I don’t know how to move forward. I’ve forgotten how to dream big. I’ve forgotten even how to believe for greater things.

Rather than believing for greater, I’ve been listening to that little voice in my head that tells me “you’ll never be good enough and God could never use someone like you with your weaknesses, hang-ups, secret struggles and dysfunctions.”

What a lie!

Thankfully God didn’t disqualify me and now He is calling me to run. To run with purpose in my step. To run with an aim and a goal. God’s call for my life is for me to live a ‘greater’ life. This call to be ‘greater’ is the call to walk with God Himself. Thankfully, this call and vision for my life is built on a promise: God created me for more.

As Ps Steven says: “Nobody does greater things for God because they’ve got it all together. And nobody is disqualified because they don’t.”

Although I’m not yet sure what that vision and call and promise for my life is, I know that now is the time for me to get out of the starting blocks and run. Now is the time for me to say goodbye to mediocrity and hello to all that God has planned for my life. It’s time to begin! NOW is the point in time, the origin, the onset of something new. Of something big. Of something GREATER.

36 thoughts on “Say goodbye to mediocrity

  1. Wow, Nikki! I loved reading this. I have been asked several times over the last year what my dreams are & what I’m passionate about & you know what, I couldn’t answer because It has been SO long since I dreamed of anything more than the everyday life that I live. That’s one thing that I too from reading chapter 2 – that I am good enough to not stay stuck in mediocrity & I don’t have to settle for a mediocre life anymore. I can have dreams & I can have passions. God has shown me that last few days that I am the only one who has ever been holding me back. He wants Greater for me & now so do I.

    1. Yay Tricia!!! So glad you realise how much God has greater plans for your life! Isn’t it an exciting journey we are embarking on as we dare to dream again? And as we refuse to listen to that voice that tells us we’re not good enough!?
      Thanks for taking the time to comment on my blog post – it means so much to me.
      God bless
      Love,
      Nicki

  2. Nicki,

    It is hard for me to imagine you in the desert of life. But of course I didn’t know you then. I can see you doing greater things for God and not only greater things but things the world will consider Great – it is in your personality. And I know you are the type of person who have the best for those that cross your path. If God entrusted you with a million dollars, you would find a way to not only squeeze every last penny of that in blessing others, you would find a way to multiply that to help even more people.

    I pray, dear lady, that God will make very clear to you the path you are to take each morning. I pray it will be as clear as the road you run on. But most of all I pray for you not to lose heart and to know the love God has for you because I know that love will flow out to others.

    Blessings,
    Catherine

  3. Oh! How your life could so be like mine. Except my ‘wilderness’ period is working on 4 years. And I have been confused the WHOLE journey. However, I have seen Christ in ways I never have before. I am praying that He willkie His greater call clear to you sweet sister!!

    1. Thanks Jennifer. And I pray your wilderness period will soon be over. Clarity never happened until I was on the other side. I totally understand that confusion you are experiencing.
      Can’t wait to hear how things work out for you.
      Thanks for commenting on my blog – I really appreciate it.
      God bless
      Love
      Nicki

  4. Nicki, Nicki, Nicki!!! I love you, girl! Love your spirit, your raw honesty, your challenges to us/me to get my butt in gear and run this race with you! Someone asked me this week what my dreams are, what’s my purpose. I had no answer. All I know is that I’m at the point where I’m ready to open myself up to the Greater that God’s been calling me to. Want a running partner?

  5. I think you captured how so many women feel (myself included). We are baseline living and have given up on a “greater” vision for our life. Thank you for sharing this. it has given me some things to think about.

    Love and blessings,
    Kristen (OBS group leader)

  6. AMen sister! I totally agree with your thoughts! I am exactly where u r. I don’t even know how to dream? I will pray for u! We need clarity! And I ask god to speak loudly and boldly in our lives so he will show us the way. U r a great writer! Great post!

  7. I can totally relate to everything that you have mentioned Nicki. Thank you for sharing. I have been stuck for four years in family brokenness. All of our hopes and dreams and plans were taken away like a thief in the night. I keep praying and hoping and encouraging my husband and I wait nothing happens. Struggling every month when the bills come around again and there is barely enough to get by. But deep down in my heart there is a flame a flame that nothing and no circumstance can extinquish. The flame is the love that I have for my Lord Jesus and my Heavenly Father. I know that there is something more in store for me. I have settled for just about everything in my life except for my faith. Currently I feel stuck, I cant see, I cant hear, and my heart is closed off with all the dissapointments and discouragements from the past four years. I want to be free of this. I want to do what God made me to do. So I’m taking a step. The first step is this study with my faith sisters. I want the light within me to be so radiant everyone needs sunglasses.

  8. Thank you Nicki! God loves us and calls us with all of our flaws and insecurities! He uses them for blessings and purpose! We just need to know that and not run away from it. I am so happy that you are aiming high again. 🙂

  9. Nicki your blogs bless me over and over. I have so many of these same feelings – old, fat, blunt and deep down when I really talk to God I know some of this is so wrong. I am looking for greater and so thankful for this study and especially for special ladies like you to do it with. Keep up the blogging, keep blessing our lives.

  10. Nicki, I am with you on the slow and steady running thing. I’ve never been a sprinter. We don’t need to sprint, we just need to finish. Keep on keeping on girl. God has a great plan for you! Praise the Lord we don’t have to have it all together to start the race…He will equip us as we run. Love you sweet sister. And, I saw where Christa invited you to the Disney 1/2 marathon in 2014…I would do it too with you! Love,
    Sue

  11. No, I don’t think you have been left at the starting block. You might be moving at a snail’s pace, but I can tell you are moving. You are so good at sharing your thoughts and that is important. It helps others. I know, because it helps me.

Leave a Reply

