This is too good not to share. Thanks Erin for a brilliantly well written piece of advice. I’m just so sorry it has been written through your own personal experience.

As we trim our trees and sing our carols, there are families suffering.  In Newtown, CT, 26 families are approaching this Christmas without someone they love.  Someone who died too soon.  Someone they can’t breathe without.

What do you say to someone who has lost a child at Christmas?  Many avoid the family, thinking they don’t want to be bothersome.  Some come up with cliche’ saying that will make the speaker feel like they did their part, but will not help console the grieving. If you have never experienced a loss like this, it is difficult to know what to say or how to act.

Do you say Merry Christmas?  Do you ask How are you?  Do you invite them over for a party?

These families most likely do not want to celebrate Christmas in the traditional way.  They may cling to the gift of Jesus, our Saviour and the…

View original post 653 more words

3 thoughts on “

  1. Thank you Nicki. While I do write from my own experience of losing my son from cancer, I do not know what it must feel like to lost a child by violence, murder, shooting, etc. I am sure there are many horrific feeling associated with this type of loss that I cannot even fathom. I held my son in my arms when he died. For that I will be forever grateful. My heart is just crying for these families. I want to hug them and never let go.

  2. It’s really a nice and helpful piece of info. I’m glad
    that you simply shared this useful info with us. Please stay us informed like this.
    Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

