Open the eyes of my heart

Open-the-eyes-of-my-heart-Lord-300x202

Weakness: 1. The state or condition of lacking or missing strength.

“True faith is man’s weakness leaning on God’s strength.” D.L. Moody.

God says: “My grace (my favor, loving kindness and mercy) is sufficient for you – it is all you need. My power and strength works best in you and is made perfect in your weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. (2 Corinthians 12:9)

For so long I didn’t see God’s strength living in me. I saw rejection. Loss. Disappointment. Doubt. Insecurity. Fear. Discouragement. I saw and felt weakness. But reading Greater by Ps Steven Furtick as part of Melissa Taylor’s Online Bible Study has reminded me that so often I missed the truth of God’s power in my life because, instead of looking at things the way God sees them, I was looking at things with my (very limited) human insight.

As I finish the book and this study, my prayer is the prayer of Paul for the Ephesians found in Ephesians 1:18-21:

I pray that the eyes of my heart may be opened, enlightened and flooded with light in order that I may know and understand the hope He has given to me – His called child, rich in His glorious inheritance. I also pray that I will understand the incredible, incomparable greatness of God’s power that is given to me because I choose to believe Him. I need to remember that that power is the same as the mighty strength He exerted when He raised Christ from the dead and seated Him at His right hand in the place of honor in the heavenly realms.

As Ps Steven says, “Living in strength is all about taking hold of God’s power and exerting it in our lives. But we can’t put it to use if we don’t know it’s there! And we can’t live it out if it’s always overshadowed by reminders of our weaknesses.” I have to stop reminding myself of my weaknesses and limitations and start living life strong – full of God’s power and strength.

It doesn’t matter what I think I am or am not. It doesn’t matter what others think I am or am not. What matters is what God thinks about me. What matters is how God sees me and what He says about me. When I start to live this way, believing what He sees about me and what He says about me, then my eyes and my heart will be open to see what He sees.

It’s time for me to step out in His strength and power. I have to stop deliberating, analyzing and theorizing. It’s time to stop agonizing, worrying and wondering. It’s time to believe the truth of what God says about me and strip off the hurts and chains that have constrained me and bound me up and held me back for so long. And then I just have to do what He is calling me to do – open my eyes and see the “greater” life He has planned for me.

13 thoughts on “Open the eyes of my heart

  1. Nicki, you are such a blessing. I will treasure your friendship always. You have been such a wonderful leader for the studies through Proverbs 31, & I enjoy reading your blogs. Your honesty, openness and your loving heart seeking for God shows in all you do. Thank you for sharing your journey, even the hard parts as I relate to your journey and see the struggles that you have faced and how you have came through to the other side. Has helped me to sift through some of my own issues in the same areas. I will miss you as leader of group 11, but more so as our friend and the wisdom and caring words and prayers that you kept us covered in. I know that you are being led in other directions and I pray God’s blessings on all that you do…And will be coming back to your blog to read and keep in touch… 🙂

  2. I also appreciate your honesty and vulnerability in your blogs. Too often Christians do not ever want to let anyone see any weaknesses. The reality, however, is that we all have weaknesses. As you mentioned, God does not want us to focus on the weaknesses but to see ourselves as He sees us….as His princesses and extremely loved daughters. I have loved the Greater study and grown so much from it. Thank you for being a great, caring leader. I will miss you and wish you the best as you continue to pursue your new job, education, and taking care of your family. God richly bless you.

  3. Nicki,
    I love you’re writing. You take the time to pull out scripture that go with your thoughts.
    Starting your blog with a definition is so cool.
    It always amazing when God’s truth contradicts man’s.
    Love you.
    Catherine

  4. Your blogs always bless me–your heart blesses me. I am praying that prayer with you. This part really stopped me in my tracks. “I have to stop deliberating, analyzing and theorizing. It’s time to stop agonizing, worrying and wondering.” That is SO me and it is comforting to see another sister struggle with that too. Let’s step out! Let’s walk by faith. May God’s blessings be on you always!

  5. Nicki,
    I love reading your blog posts! You are so open and honest! They are such an inspiration to me! I am right there with you and I totally understand how you feel. So let’s step out in faith together and start our greater journey!

    Love and blessings to you my dear!

Leave a Reply

