Cross = Love

cross equals love

Agape Love: 1. Selfless, sacrificial, unconditional love. 2. The highest form of love. 3. The kind of love demonstrated by Jesus Christ towards God, His father, and towards us, His followers. 4. Love that is demonstrated towards another with no thought of personal gain.

Easter Sunday is Resurrection Sunday.

On Good Friday we remember the day that Jesus was nailed to the cross in order to pay for the sins of humanity.

On Sunday we celebrate the victory that He rose from death and ascended to heaven to sit at God’s right hand. He is alive!

Sunday is the day we remember the reason why.

Love.

Agape Love.

Pure, selfless, unconditional, sacrificial love.

In perhaps the most well-known verse in the Bible, John 3:16, it says: “God so greatly loved and dearly prized the world that He even gave His One and Only Son Jesus, so that whoever believes in, trusts in, clings to and relies on Him, shall not perish or be lost but shall have everlasting and eternal life.”

The Message translation says: “This is how much God loved the world: He gave His one and only Son. And this is why: so that no one shall be destroyed. By believing in Him, anyone can have a whole and everlasting life.”

Just over two thousand years ago, a 33 year old Jewish carpenter called Jesus was nailed to a wooden cross and left to die. His crime was unclear, yet His enemies were insistent and demanded His crucifixion. Quietly, without complaint, carrying a wooden cross, He walked to the place of His death and accepted the pain and degradation of His punishment. Jesus paid the ultimate price for you and for me. Death. He did it so that I might know of God’s love for me. He did it to bring God’s forgiveness for my sins.

Why? Because of Agape love – a love without limits.

The Cross = Love.

God loves me not because of who I am or what I can do for Him. God loves me just because He does. And because of His love for me, He allowed His Son to die in my place so that I can be free from the hurts that I carry and the mistakes that I’ve made. Jesus’ death guarantees God’s forgiveness. His resurrection and my belief in Him guarantees my eternity. I don’t really understand it because I don’t really love the way He does. Unconditional. Selfless. Sacrificial. Pure.

This Resurrection Sunday I’m going to celebrate and remember why He loves me.

He loves me because He just does.

Today, if you’re looking for this type of true love, I truly believe you can find it through a personal relationship with God through His Son, Jesus Christ. Every single day people start a new relationship with God and today I would love you to pray these words and experience this same love that I, and so many others, have found.

Dear God, I come to you in the name of the Lord Jesus. I want to know you personally. I acknowledge that I am a sinner and I am sorry for my sins and for the life that I have lived. I need Your forgiveness. I believe that Your Son Jesus Christ shed His blood on a cross at Calvary and died for my sins and because of that I am now willing to turn away from my sins. The Bible says that if I confess with my mouth and believe in my heart that You raised Jesus from the dead, I will be saved. Right now I confess Jesus Christ is the Lord of my life, of my heart, of my mind and of my soul and I open the door of my life to Him and ask Him to come into my life as my Savior and Lord. Dear God, take control of my life. Thank You for forgiving my sins and giving me eternal life. Thank You for Your unlimited grace which has saved me. Thank You that Your grace will lead to my repentance. Make me the kind of person You want me to be. Transform my life so that I may bring glory and honor to You alone. Thank you for giving me eternal life. Amen.

If you just said this prayer and meant it with all your heart, you are now “born again”. Congratulations! Please tell someone of your decision (you can tell me!), find a Bible-based church and begin to read the Bible. You will find other Christians to pray with you and support you in your journey of faith.

I hope you now understand that the cross really does equal love.

[Please take a moment to listen to Darlene Zschech’s song “Victor’s Crown” here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_2nBOGA6X2g%5D

3 thoughts on “Cross = Love

Leave a Reply

