Broken

God can fix a broken heart

5minutefriday

Broken: 1. Violently separated into pieces. 2. Damaged or altered by breaking. 3. Shattered. 4. No longer in working order. 5. Unusable. 6. Rejected.

“The Lord is there to rescue all who are discouraged and have given up hope. He is close to those who have suffered disappointment. He is near to the brokenhearted. He saves those who are discouraged, crushed in spirit and who have lost all hope.” (Psalm 34:18)

This word “broken” keeps following me around! Last week I wrote a blog post about being broken and yet beautiful which received the most views that day of any I have written on my blog. I have also written a post called “God can fix a broken heart” which has received the most views overall on my blog.

I just can’t escape this word. This theme. Broken.

So it makes me stop and ask myself the question: “Am I still broken?”

Is my heart still broken?

I spent so many years in a lonely place of doubt, discouragement and disappointment but I thought I was healed. Fixed. Perhaps I’m not. Perhaps just a little bit of me is still broken inside. A little piece of my heart still hasn’t been completely mended.

Perhaps it has been shattered beyond repair.
Perhaps it is meant to stay broken as a reminder of God’s truth that He remains close to the broken hearted.

As a culture we throw away broken things. I’m so grateful God loves me so much that He didn’t throw me away when I became broken and crushed in spirit. Instead He lovingly restored me. He rescued me when I was discouraged. He remained close to me even when I pushed Him away. When my heart was broken and I felt crushed with doubt about His goodness and faithfulness, He continued to hold me close.

I guess the reality is, a little bit of me is still broken. But that’s okay because through this journey of brokenness I have learned that God did not turn away from me when I came to Him with a broken heart. He promised to give me new life. I truly believe God can fix a broken heart. That’s what He is doing to mine.

He is faithful to do all that He has promised.

Do you know someone who would be encouraged by this post? Please share it! If you like it, please “like” it or leave me a comment here or on Facebook. And remember you can sign up to receive each of my posts via your email so that you never miss a post. Thanks for reading and “following” me. It truly blesses me.

4 thoughts on “Broken

  1. Nicki,
    I think that some part of us will always be broken until we get to heaven. If we’re not broken in some way, we would have no need for God or salvation. Since sin entered the world man has been trying to fill the hole in our hearts that only God can fill. It is a daily filling up, much like eating to keep our physical bodies functioning. If we don’t get our daily dose of God our spirits start to deteriorate and will eventually die.

    I pray that your brokenness will be repaired each day as you continue to trust and seek God.

    Blessings,
    Catherine

  2. Dear Nicky
    Last night our Pappa God showed me another painful, broken place in my heart that I didn’t want to face for a long time. But it is necessary to clean those festered wounds so that complete healing can occur. Perhaps that is the ” still a bit broken” that you speak of!
    Blessings XX
    Mia

    1. Hello Mia. I’m so sorry that I just found your comment. It landed in my “spam” inbox. I’m so sorry. Thank you for taking the time to read my post and to make a comment. It’s so hard to clean those wounds sometimes isn’t it?
      Hope you’re doing well.
      Love and blessings
      Nicki

Leave a Reply

