When did the mysterious becomes mundane?

Worship handsMundane: 1. Lacking interest. 2. Lacking excitement. 3. Dull. 4. Commonplace. 5. Ordinary. 6. Unimaginative. 7. Of this earthly world rather than a heavenly or spiritual one.

‘The Lord said to Elijah ‘Go out and stand on the mountain before the Lord. And behold, the Lord passed by, and a great and strong wind blew and caused the mountains to break apart. But the Lord was not in the wind. And after the wind an earthquake; but the Lord was not in the earthquake. And after the earthquake a fire; but the Lord was not in the fire: and after the fire a still, small voice. When Elijah heard it, he used his coat to cover his face and went out and stood in the entrance of the cave. Then a quiet voice said to him ‘What are you doing here, Elijah’?” (1Kings 19:11-13)

I started reading Lysa Terkeurst’s book “What happens when women say ‘yes’ to God” and one sentence jumped right off the page at me.

“We have become so familiar with God yet so unaware of Him.
We make the mysterious mundane.”

When did this happen?

How is it possible that I have allowed the miracles and mysteries of God to become mundane and of this earthy world rather than a heavenly world? Am I no different to the Israelites who journeyed for 40 years in the wilderness looking for the Promised Land only to complain when God kept giving them a miracle every day? When they were lost, tired, stranded and hungry God miraculously provided for them by “raining down” food from heaven every day. Each and every day this “manna” that tasted like wafers made with honey was delivered from heaven and settled like dew in the morning for the people to collect. Each day (except the Sabbath) this life-sustaining miracle was given to God’s people. Every day. For forty years.

And yet the mysteriousness of this miracle become mundane to them. And they began to grumble and whinge and complain. “Why can’t we have meat? We ate fish in Egypt. We had cucumbers and melons and leeks and onions and garlic. But nothing tastes good out here. Every day all we get is manna, manna, manna.”

Boring. Dull. Unimaginative. Mundane.

Yes, I am just like the Israelites! I have forgotten all about the mysterious miracles given to me each day by God. I have somehow confused the daily mysterious miracles thinking they are just dull, ordinary, typical, unspectacular occurrences in my life. I’ve relegated the mysterious miracles of God into the category of the mundane.

When did it happen?

When did I stop finding the mysterious in the every day miracles and only expect God to speak to me through the big moments. The big events. The conferences. The important guest speakers. The books. The ‘awesome’ praise and worship sessions? When did I start expecting mountains to break apart when God had something to tell me? When did I expect earthquakes to rock my world when God had something to show me? When did I expect that the only way God was doing something was through the fires and floods and jaw dropping, mouth opening, speechless moments when I ‘felt’ His presence?

Somewhere along the journey I realize I have adopted a “been there – seen that” attitude. There has become a sense of “Yeah, that’s good God. So what’s next? Can You do better? Yeah I know You’ve raised people from the dead. Parted oceans. Rained down food from heaven. But what else can You do?”

It hit me that I have made the mysterious mundane. I’ve forgotten that sometimes God speaks through a whisper.

Therefore let me be silent that I may once again hear the marvelous, miraculous, mysterious whisper of God. Let my eyes be open to every ordinary, mundane moment that I may once again see God’s hand. Let me take off my shoes and remember that my feet are walking on holy ground. Let me pause before every common bush, just in case in burns up with the fire of God. Let me come with an expectation that every moment I live and breath has the potential to become pregnant with possibilities. Let me live ‘wonderstruck’ and in awe of God. Let my heart be pure so that I may once again feel His touch and His mighty presence every moment of every day. Let there be a stirring in my soul as I once again yearn for more of God. And let the mundane moments remain mysterious.

“Leave me astounded, leave me amazed. Show off Your glory, let heaven invade. I’m waiting with worship. I’m waiting with praise, for the almighty presence of God to invade.”
(‘Spirit Fall’ by Planetshakers)

As Lysa writes: “Sometimes the God of the universe pauses in the midst of all His creation to touch the heart of one person.”

Today, in the midst of the mundane, He paused for me. And that’s my mysterious miracle.

Do you know someone who would be encouraged by this post? Please share it! If you like it, please “like” it or leave me a comment here or on Facebook. And remember you can sign up to receive each of my posts via your email so that you never miss a post. Thanks for reading and “following” me. It truly blesses me.

31 thoughts on “When did the mysterious becomes mundane?

  1. God really spoke to you as you wrote the message in your blog. We all need to be reminded to be still and listen for God’s still small voice. Great job, Nicki!

  2. I will make it a point to see God in every sunrise and sunset, in each blooming flower and weed, in the birds and creatures of the earth. I will seek God in the touch of my friends and husband. I will seek God when I nourish my body and lay down to sleep. He is therein everything I see and do.

    Never knew one definition of mundane is of this world rather than a heavenly or spiritual one. Something can be exciting and take my breath away but still be considered mundane. Something to ponder.
    The most moving “sermon” can be mundane if it is a cover for lies.

    Great blog Nicki. Really made me think.

    Blessings,
    Catherine

  3. Wow! Nicki, this is awesome! its a wake up call for me, I love it and thank you for reminding me never to take God’s goodness for granted because that’s what the Israelites did, may the Lord help us all. thank you for sharing, I just reblogged your stories hope you don’t mind?

  4. Powerful reminder and I love the story of Elijah, especially as he must wait for God, over and over again, during such a tumultuous time in Israeli history.

    Your post challenges me to not only look for miracles in mundane things but also in the lives of every day people. Sometimes, I think that only pastors or seasoned Christian speakers could make an impact on my life. But God usually works through the meek, the weak, and those who are the least in their families. God’s grace and love covers over everyone and whatever we do for the least of His children, we do for Him.

  5. Awesome post, Nicki! I love the story of Elijah in 1 Kings 19 and how it was in a whisper that he heard God…what a great reminder to look for Him in EVERYTHING!! Thank you for sharing!

  6. I absolutely love your prayer at the ending of this blog post!!! I hope you do not mind if I share it with others and also use it as my own prayer? Thank you for this post I appreciate it so much and needed this. Thanks, Liz

    1. Dear Liz
      I’d be honored if you would share this prayer and my post to others. My prayer as I have said ‘yes’ to God is that He would speak through me to others and that their lives might be enriched and encouraged by my journey of honesty and transparency as I have chosen to trust Him each day.
      So glad He blessed you today as you read this.
      Love
      Nicki

  7. So, before I went to bed last night, I read some of your beautiful thoughts and as fate has it, I awake and yours are the first I read out of bed (and after a few cups of coffee lol)
    I think God is speaking to me through your wonderful posts…my favorite from this one? ‘I’ve forgotten that sometimes God speaks through a whisper’. That is so incredibly important for me to remember…it’s SO true!!
    Thank you for that reminder, I think I’m putting this on an index card to have out in the open on some days! At times He’s whispered for me and I’ve not been able to hear it due to the ‘noise’ around me…we must find a ‘quiet’ place in our daily schedules to hear from Him!
    God Bless you my friend 🙂

    1. Dear Beck! I’m SO happy mine was the first comment you read when you woke up!!!! You must have needed lots of coffee after your very late night reading all the blogs. I saw how many you commented on – wow girl!
      Loved your blog and look forward to hearing how God speaks to you through this study.
      Love lots
      Nicki

      1. Haha!! I so love my coffee! 🙂 Don’t you just love how many blogs there are? I spent the entire day off and on trying to read as many as I possibly could and I look forward to (hopefully) reading more today. I just love it when women share their life, their struggles, their faith. It truly helps me along my journey. 🙂
        Thanks for stopping by mine! As always, I so look forward to reading your thoughts!!
        Much love back to you my sweet sister in Christ!

  8. Can I just say WOW! Thank you for sharing what God has given you. I too find myself missing those moments when He speaks in a whisper because I’m too busy looking for the burning bush. This made me think and in a good way. I’ll be looking for God in every aspect of my life. Looking for those moments when he pauses and touches me.

  9. Nicki – I love that you reminded us of the quote from Lysa, “We have become so familiar with God yet so unaware of Him. We make the mysterious mundane.” I have read the chapter twice and missed that one. I never want that to happen, yet, I am afraid it has. Thanks for kicking me back in gear! #YesToGod

    1. Isn’t it amazing how one small phrase can get missed? This one jumped out at me but I wonder how many other phrases I have missed. I love reading all the other blogs and reading how other people interpret the book and also what God is saying to them.
      Thanks for commenting.
      Love
      Nicki

  10. Nicki, I loved your blog! Wow, that’s what I want too. To hear Him in the small, still whisper. Thank you for sharing with us Nicki!

  11. I love what you have said here, Nicki, you have reminded us of such an important truth. It is sad that it is part of human nature to change the awesome from the ordinary in order to fit in our comfortable little boxes of understanding. Thanks so much for sharing and linking up at Essential Fridays.

Leave a Reply

