She said yes

She said yesYes: 1. An affirmative response. 2. The opposite of no.

Courageous: 1. Brave. 2. Adventurous. 3. Bold. 4. Fearless. 5. Daring. 6. Not deterred by danger.

Surrender: 1. To cease to resist. 2. To yield.

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for God will be with you wherever you go.” (Joshua 1:9)

God will be with me. Wherever I go. Whether I turn to the right or to the left, my ears will hear a voice saying, “This is the way; walk in it.” (Isaiah 30:21)

Author Kay Warren calls saying ‘yes’ to God a form of “courageous surrender”.

I can relate to that. Every time I’ve said ‘yes’ to God, it’s taken a whole lot of courage. And a whole lot of surrender. It’s taken a whole lot of being undeterred by potential danger. And a whole lot of yielding to God. And trusting Him.

It hasn’t been easy.

I don’t normally think of myself in terms of being an especially courageous person. I wouldn’t consider myself to be brave. I don’t describe myself as adventurous. I don’t like dangerous situations. I’m not very bold or daring. And I’m certainly not fearless. You’ll never catch me parachuting from a plane, bungee jumping, jet boating or white water rafting. I’ll never dive or swim with sharks and you won’t catch me heli-skiing either. Even indoor rock climbing stretches the limits of my courage. I’m definitely a “feet on the ground” unadventurous (boring) kind of girl. (And I’m okay with that!)

But one thing I’ve learned in life is that being ‘courageous’ means so much more than having daring and adventurous extreme experiences.

It simply means choosing to say ‘yes’ to God. It means choosing not to let the first words of out my mouth be ‘no’.

  • Saying ‘yes’ I’ll stay married for over 21 years. That takes courage.
  • Saying ‘yes’ we’ll pioneer a new church. That took courage.
  • Saying ‘yes’ I’ll return to full time study as a mature-aged student and become a nurse. That was a courageous choice.
  • Saying ‘yes’ we will raise our four kids to love and serve God. That is courageous.
  • Saying ‘yes’ I’ll try writing a blog and sharing my heart and life as transparently and honestly as I can. That requires courage.
  • Saying ‘yes’ to God and walking away from ministry with no plans for the future. That was the most courageous decision ever.

For me, saying ‘yes’ to God is about hearing from Him and then being obedient, even though I sometimes (honestly) really just want to say ‘no’.

Thankfully, the Bible encourages me that wherever I go, God is with me. I don’t need to become strong and courageous. I already am. The moment I say ‘yes’ to God, His presence gives me the ability to be strong and courageous. The moment I say ‘yes’ and surrender to His will and plans for my life, then I become brave and bold. Fearless.

In the past when I found myself in situations where I wondered if God was paying any attention to me, He was with me all along. Whilst I often felt alone, neglected, rejected and even depressed, He was with me all along. There were long seasons where I didn’t ‘feel’ His presence, but He was with me all along. I turned both to the left and then to the right, but I couldn’t hear His voice telling me which way to turn. But He was still there. He was with me all along. Waiting for me to trust Him and just say ‘yes’.

As Lysa TerKeurst writes in her book What Happens When Women say Yes to God: “You don’t need perfect circumstances to be a women who says yes to God…You simply have to surrender all that’s clamoring for attention in your heart with the answer God is longing to hear spill from your lips, ‘yes, God’…We are often afraid to venture past our comfort zone (but) outside our comfort zone is where we experience the true awesomeness of God.”

If saying ‘yes’ to God means I will experience this awesomeness, then whatever God says do, I’ll do it. With courageous surrender.

Do you know someone who would be encouraged by this post? Please share it! If you like it, please “like” it or leave me a comment here or on Facebook. And remember you can sign up to receive each of my posts via your email so that you never miss a post. Thanks for reading and “following” me. It truly blesses me.

74 thoughts on “She said yes

  1. Hi Nicky, just want to encourage you, I have read some of your devotions and find there really true to life, you are connecting to woman who at various times need a God connection being refreshed. My daughter is studying to be an RN so I know how busy you are plus having four children. It’s encouraging how God gives you the endurance to reach out to others. I pray for blessings to you and your family and will be posting this to my sister in Denmark. Thank you!

    1. Dawn thank you so much for your lovely words of encouragement. Thanks for praying for my family and I. Some days I wonder where I find the strength to keep going. I believe God wants me to share my stories openly and honestly and I pray my blogs are far reaching so that people who read them might be touched and encouraged to move towards God and trust Him.
      Thanks again for taking the time to respond to me.
      God bless
      Love
      Nicki

  2. Nicki,

    I am so glad you said YES!!!!! Dark times are tough, been there, done that. It is awesome that you “hung in there” and muddled through the times when you couldn’t sense God was with you. Funny how we think it’s God that turns His back when in truth it’s us. He will never leave us nor forsake us.

    AMEN SISTER. GREAT JOB.

    1. Thanks so much for your encouragement. The awesome thing about blogging is that once you get started, it just takes on a world of its own as you say ‘yes’ to God and follow His lead. Thank you so much for ”following’ me as I write about my walk with God.
      God bless
      Love
      Nicki

  3. Very beautiful words. Thank you for sharing, I know I am not alone in fighting against sin only the Lord can give me the strength and my faith in Him grows ever stronger each day I commit and surrender myself to Him. I no longer have self confidence but confidence in my Lord to protect me and guide me. I have said yes to God. I never felt so much peace in joy since the day I asked Him back in my life. It is hard at first not knowing how but each day He shows me more and more. I am thankful and full of joy,

  4. Beautiful words that speak volumes to my heart. I love your gift with words Nicki! I’m so glad to be back in touch with the ‘blogging world’ and so glad yours was one of the first I’ve read before heading to bed. What better thoughts to head to sleep with? (It’s almost 2 am for me here in the States…SO worth the extra few min being up!!)
    God Bless 🙂

  5. I love how you write “We are often afraid to venture past our comfort zone (but) outside our comfort zone is where we experience the true awesomeness of God.” I have found this to be profoundly true in my life although not always easy.
    Thanks for sharing.

  6. This was absolutely beautiful. I am glad I read it. Now I just have to digest all these reflections so beautifully fitted into words.
    Just last night (and a few times before), I was pondering along similar lines of what you say in your blog “I turned both to the left and then to the right, but I couldn’t hear His voice telling me which way to turn.”…I thought of that along the lines but about praying for certain things and not getting any indication of what it is (yes, no, or wait)…and then I was wondering if God’s silence means ‘no’…so maybe I should not pray for these further then…what is your take on it?

    1. G’day Marisha. Sometimes I think Gods “no” means you have to press through in case no really means “not yet”. I’m sure you’ll read some of my other posts which talk a lot about waiting for God to tell me which way to turn.
      I really appreciate that you have taken the time to comment here and my prayer is that you will be so blessed by Melissa and is study. Stay in touch and let me know how you’re finding the study and what God is speaking to you about
      God bless
      Love
      Nicki

  7. Thank you, Nicki, for sharing your heart. I never really thought about the courage that it does take to say “Yes to God”. You have blessed me with your words today!! God bless!!

  8. What a wonderful post, I feel more courageous just from reading! Thanks for your honestly and scriptures that can help me on my walk to always saying “Yes” to God. Blessing to you!

  9. I love your yeses! Saying yes does take courage doesn’t it?! We could easily sit back and not do what we know we should do but life wouldn’t be as exciting would it? I love the roller coaster…usually 🙂
    I hopped over on the blog hop and look forward to reading more from you.
    God bless!

  10. Thank you so much for sharing this! This week I said, “Yes” to God. It was a HUGE step for me. I could relate to your story SO much! A precious friend shared Isaiah 20:31 with me as I was struggling with this decision. I can’t tell you how many times I have seen this verse since I’ve said yes! It amazes me how faithful God is! I am so thankful for your precious words! They were such an encouragement to me today. Thank you!

  11. Thank you for your blog today. This is the first time I’ve read your blog and you had word pictures that are also true of my life. You’ve touched my heart in a new way and I plan to come back to read more of your blogs in the future. Thank you again.

  12. Oh wow….thank you for sharing this post. It makes me look on saying “yes” in a whole new light. Saying “yes” is a courageous move….I yearn to be more courageous too. Blessings to you.

  13. LOVE! “For me, saying ‘yes’ to God is about hearing from Him and then being obedient, even though I sometimes (honestly) really just want to say ‘no’.” I like that … “being obedient”.

    Your post is inspiring!

  14. Oh Wow, Nicki this brought tears to my eyes. I needed to read this more than you can ever know. I’m not sure I have the words to tell you how much you sharing your heart has impacted mine today.

    Thank you!

  15. How perfectly you have spoken what I needed to hear this morning. Like many of the commenters here, I am doing the Proverbs 31 Online Bible Study “What Happens When Women Say Yes To God.” I have committed to say yes, without even knowing what I’m saying yes to! This morning, God laid on my heart to witness to a dear friend who is an atheist. Scary. But I am saying yes. It has also been on my heart to go back to school to enter the medical field…something you mentioned in your list of courageous “yes’s.” I am seeking God’s will in that area to determine if that calling is His or mine. Regardless, I am saying yes to whatever He asks of me. I thank you for your encouraging words, and for the reminders that God has always been there, even in those times when I could not seem to find Him. Perhaps, as you suggested, He was just waiting patiently, in His perfect way, for me to finally say YES.

    1. Julianna I encourage you to say ‘yes’!!! I love how God waits for the perfect time even though it doesn’t seem that way at the time! Let me know what you decide to do regarding entering the medical field. Yes, it takes courage and surrender.
      Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and taking the time to comment. It means so much to me.
      God bless
      Love
      Nicki

  16. LIke you said the best thing you can do is know that God is always with you! It’s a good feeling to have when you hit those rough patches and also those times when you are in a good spot, it helps you stay encouraged during those rough times! Following your blog via the blog hop, hope you can stop by my page! =) coloradoblessedmom.wrodpress.com

  17. Love how you point out that saying yes is being courageous–oftentimes we don’t see that as being an attribute to our obedience to say yes.

  18. Yes, yes, YES! I am struggling so much with letting go of the things that have held me back and learning to just let go and say YES to God. Trusting him and obeying him.

  19. This post blessed me. These are the exact same scriptures I used in my prayer time last night.

    God’s presence is what helps us to be strong and courageous. This is also in line with the prophetic word that went forth on Sunday.

  20. Awesome! Loved your post and when you said, “But one thing I’ve learned in life is that being ‘courageous’ means so much more than having daring and adventurous extreme experiences.”—is so true! You are right now!! 🙂 Thank you for sharing your blog with me. I look forward to reading more posts from you! Inspiring!

    🙂 Michelle

  21. Thanks for reminding me to look back for all the “Yes” moments I may have already had. We tend to overlook the small “yes,” while we are focusing on all the big “yeses” we have to conquer yet. The size of our “yes” is not what is important, it is that we actually said “YES!”

  22. I love your post! Especially the things you’ve said yes to and seen God’s blessings in. What a great testimony of his faithfulness, and yours. It’s amazing how saying “yes” in the little things leads to God’s blessings in the big things.

    I love your blog design as well. 🙂

    I look forward to following your blog as we work through this study together.

  23. Nicki,
    Thank you for all the lovely reminders of different ways we can be brave and say, “Yes to God”. It’s easy to overlook some of those bold answers of yes when we are looking at things from our own perspective. It often takes another person to help us see our own bravery. Thanks for helping me see my courage through sharing yours.
    Michelle

  24. I loved your post. The statements that we don’t have to have perfect circumstances really resonated with me. Love your graphic, too.

  25. Nikki, it was so nice to read your blog. I just love this book study “When Women Say Yes to God”. I have started a blog much like your own, telling of my story while I am on my journey. I have been quite lax with my blog. You have placed a spark in me to re-start my blog again. Blessings to you.

  26. Nicki, I love your honest way of writing. I could really relate to what you said about lacking in courage and a spirit of adventure. I am very much the same – I like the familiar and the safety of my comfortable routines. Yet, I have said yes to God at different times in my life. It has required courage. But also has grown my faith, trust and obedience. I know I would say yes again. Thanks for linking up at Essential Fridays.

    1. Thanks Mel. I have tried to write all my posts with 100% honesty and transparency. I find that so many of us normally hide behind a facade and this blog is all about removing the mask and being “me” as I journey day to day trusting God.
      Glad you hear you would continue to say ‘yes’ again to God – even though it sometimes requires an incredible amount of courage.
      Blessings and thanks for having me over at Essential Fridays.
      Love
      Nicki

Leave a Reply

