I surrender

white flagSurrender: 1. To yield completely. 2. To give in or give up. 3 To submit to authority.

“Surrender yourself to the Lord, and wait patiently for Him.” (Psalm 37:7)

“Submit and surrender yourself to God [agree with God and show yourself to be conformed to His will], and you will have peace. You will prosper and great things will come to you.” (Job 22:21)

Sometimes surrendering in the small things brings the greatest blessings.

Last week I loudly exclaimed “yes God, I do want greater things for my life!” I do want to see what happens when I say “yes”. Now, two chapters further into Lysa TerKeursts book What happens when women say ‘yes’ to God I’m looking around hoping no-one noticed that I put my hand up!

This week has shown me that if I’m going to be a “yes to God” kind of girl, I need to be willing to surrender to Him. I want to say up front (very honestly), that history has shown me that surrendering doesn’t always guarantee the immediate answer or the results I want expect.

When my husband heard God say “surrender”, he left a very well paid job in the Performing Arts and Entertainment industry to enter full-time ministry. Within months, God spoke again and told us that His plan for full-time ministry was not where we were, but 12 hours drive away, back in our hometown of Geelong. We were being called to plant a church. So we did. We sold everything (including a brand new home we had just built and only lived in for 6 weeks that still smelled of fresh paint!) and moved back to Geelong. We had a four week old newborn baby, three other children under five years old, a dog and a cat. We also had no house. No car. No job. And no savings. Just a call. And a desire to surrender and say “yes” to God.

Ten years later my husband again heard God say “surrender” and he stepped down from a full-time ministry position and walked away from senior pastoring the church we had planted and watched grow and flourish. We believed it would only be a matter of weeks before he found another job. Thirteen long months (and ninety-six rejection letters) later, he was finally offered what appeared to be a great job back in his former career in the Arts and Entertainment industry. He came home from work that first night and looked at me and asked: “What have I done? When God told me to leave the church, this is not what He called me to do.” Eight months later he came home from work and looked at me again and said: “I can’t do this anymore.” And he handed in his resignation, surrendering to God again. In the meantime we had a house with a mortgage that remained unpaid. No car. No job. And no savings. Just a promise and a call. And a desire to surrender and say “yes” to God. Again, we believed it would only be a matter of weeks before he found another position. This time eleven more months passed before he was finally offered his current dream job, working as the School Chaplain in a large co-educational private school.

The thing about surrender is that I can’t step into what God wants for me if I’m still holding onto the things in my old life. Whilst I know this to be true, reality screams that every single time I have surrendered in the past it has taken God a long time to show up and show me what my new life is going to look like! Not only that, it has caused an enormous amount of pain and required incredible sacrifice. Each time I have surrendered it seems like I have lost so much.

So am I willing to trust Him again? Am I willing to surrender to Him again? I do want to say “yes” to God. I do want to live with my palms up, living the amazing life that God has called me to. For this to happen I have to offer every part of my life to Him. Surrender to Him. Submit to Him. Yield to Him. Trust Him. Show myself conformed to His will. Again.

Deep breath in and out. Here we go. “Yes God, I surrender”.

Do you know someone who would be encouraged by this post? Then I would love you to share it! If you like it, please “like” it or leave me a comment here or on Facebook. I cherish your words. Also, if you like what I have to say, you can sign up via email so that you never miss a post. Thanks for reading and “following” me as I journey day to day trusting God. It truly blesses me.

35 thoughts on “I surrender

  1. Nicki, every time you write a blog you speak into my heart. It is almost like I am there with you – seeing what you are going though and almost feeling a fear at the “yes to God”. My life is not brave like yours. My surrenders are much smaller, but surrender always means I say, Your will be done O Lord God Almighty.

    1. You are always so kind and encouraging. Thank you so much. I just love that God is using me to speak into your heart. Your surrenders might seem smaller than mine, but God will bless you (and me) each time we surrender in the small things because then He can trust us in the big things.
      Love and thanks as always for commenting and blessing me.
      Nicki

  2. You are speaking truth lady! Surrendering does not mean doing it “our way” but letting God do it his way and submitting to whatever HE says! And oftentimes it is HARD, to do, but then we grow and it’s beautiful!

  3. Sometimes we do expect to surrender and then experience immediate results, confirmation, blessing or whatever and it’s a struggle for me when that doesn’t happen. It takes so much faith to just hang on tight and trust that God is at work, His timing is perfect, and He’ll be with us all the way! Thanks for sharing your testimony.

  4. What a journey! God has walked along side of your family and has brought you to so many places because you did say “yes”. I loved reading that surrendering means to give up the old to begin the new. Blessings for a wonderful day!

  5. I’m in the waiting/hard times place. My husband accepted a job across the country, we are in custody battles with our exes and can’t move until it is resolved, we want to homeschool our children (I’m a certified k-6 teacher), I’ve resigned from my job. We know we’ve been called to move and everything is on God’s time and plan. Thank you for your words, they’ve touched me and encourage me.

  6. Niki, so hard to get past the pain of loosing each time. Need to stop thinking that I have been pruned so well that there is nothing left to loose. To jump from anything to nothing doe not sound sane. I would like to know what I am jumping to. But, I am getting ready to jump again…saying yes to God is an amazing adventure. Thank you for sharing your journey. May you feel our heavenly Father holding you in His arms of love!

    1. G’day Debbi. I must admit that the first step/jump into nothing is frightening and I don’t like doing it – no matter how many times I feel God catch me.
      Yes, life is an amazing adventure as we continue to say ‘yes’ to God. I encourage you to take a step and jump, knowing He will be there for you holding out His arms.
      Love and blessings to you. Thanks for commenting.
      Nicki

  7. I enjoyded your post and was definitely encouraged by it. I’m glad I visitied from the Blog Hop today. the main reason is because my “one word” for this year (or at least the 2nd half) is “surrender”. The Lord has really been confirming this word for me and every time I forget, He sends me a reminder through an email devotion, blog or FB post, or a tweet. It’s been difficult too, because my crazy flesh keeps wanting to get in the way. I’m used to being independent that it’s been hard to trust and let go of certain things that I feel I should be able to handle. But it’s a day to day process and I’m trying.

    1. Hey Tiffany, thanks so much for stopping by and checking out my blog. I am so blessed and encouraged to hear that God is using me to confirm your word “surrender”.
      I too find that my flesh gets in the way all the time and I want to be independent and do things my own way – it always seems easier to do that than trust God but like you say, it’s a day to day process. Thanks so much for sharing your journey.
      God bless
      Love
      Nicki

  8. Thank you for sharing your story. It really put things in perspective for me. I can understand why it may be harder and harder to say YES! after the experiences you had. I am certain the students and faculty at the school your husband now works at are very thankful that you both were willing to say YES!

  9. Nikki,

    I love this post! After struggling to say yes for so long, I assumed when I finally did that everything would instantly fall into place. This is such a good message for those that the Lord as called and they are wondering why it hasn’t happened! We must continue to serve while we are waiting.

  10. Thank you for this post! It’s so good to know that other people go through some of the same things…It’s good to know that I’m not alone…There have been times when I have given things up and it didn’t turn out the way I thought it would…. Out of it came heartache and disappointment…but I keep on trusting because I know it’s the best place to be..in His hands! Under the shelter of His wings…He knows the BIG picture and He loves me so that’s where I keep my focus.
    Again, thank you for being REAL. It’s such an encouragement Xo

    1. Hi there “tltfraser”, you’re definitely NOT alone! So pleased to hear you have kept on trusting God for the big picture. How blessed are we that He loves us so much and shelters us under His wings. I appreciate your encouragement – I try to be as honest and transparent as I can in my posts. Glad this one blessed you today.
      Love
      Nicki

  11. My goodness, my sentiments exactly!! One day closer to perfectly surrendered hearts, minds, bodies and spirit in You oh Lord!!

  12. Thank you for writing this. At times I would say I give it to you Lord and then curl up in the tornado protection squat they put you in the schools waiting for doom to hit. I know I can’t look at it that way but scary sometimes stepping out there, but I must step.

  13. Thank you Nicki for your honesty. This is the first time I have ever read your blog. I appreciate your honesty and eloquence. Working on total surrender to God and to keep on saying yes! #YesToGod
    Have a blessed evening.

  14. This was so awesome! Saying yes requires surrender and sacrifice. You are so right…part of the reason I have trouble surrendering is because I want God to show me right away what my new life will look like.

Leave a Reply

