My Story

my story

Let us look away from all that will distract us and fix our eyes on Jesus, who is the author and perfector of our faith.” (Hebrews 12:2)

I love to read stories. I love to hear people tell their stories. I love to watch movies about people’s stories.

Every single person has a story to tell. I have stories I love to tell. Let me tell you about a time when I did this or that. Let me tell you how I overcame this or that. Let me tell you when this happened to me. Let me tell you about the funny time when I did such and such.

I also have stories I would rather leave untold. Okay I admit I have entire chapters I would rather not tell anyone. There are parts of my story I’m embarrassed about. Ashamed even. Sometimes I even try to edit change lie about them. Sometimes I just leave parts out of my story. Other times I make parts of the story sound better than they really are. After all, no-one likes to listen to a ‘bad’ or boring story.

I’ve heard authors speak of how the characters in their stories often take on “lives” of their own that the writer never dreamed of. The characters are no longer just ink and imagination but fully in control of the words and actions that are being chronicled. I’ve even heard some authors say that they actually feel the horror of the subject’s nightmares, smell the aroma of freshly brewed coffee, hear the music being played or the words being spoken, and even taste the richness of a special meal. The author and the characters become one.

I would not like to be the character in a book. Imagine not being fully in control of my own story. Imagine someone else scripting my lines and dangling me before various painted backdrops as if a puppet on a string in a marionette show. I would struggle watching the scenes play out from good to bad, happy to sad, hopeful to hopeless in cyclic patterns and seasons. Imagine never knowing what was about to happen in the next scene. Would it bring triumph or tragedy or rejoicing or regret? I would not like the idea that my story was being “manipulated” by the unseen force of an author’s pen. That my life was being penned differently to how I would want it to be written.

That I wasn’t in control.

And yet that’s exactly how my story is being written.

Because I am not the author and scriptwriter of my life. Jesus is.

I am a created being. Created by God.

And my life’s story is penned by Jesus, the Author of my life.

The reason I struggle to allow Him to write my story is because I like to be in control.

Imagine if I let go (of control) enough to let Jesus be the Author of my life?

Imagine if I let go and lived the story that God wanted to tell.

As I think about this today it causes me to stop and wonder…When did Jesus, the Author of my life, first think about me? At which point did He start writing my story? When did He first become acquainted with me, His main character in this story? When did He start to develop my personality, my character, my strengths and weaknesses. When did He plan the adventures? When did he decide to introduce other fascinating characters into my life? When did He plan to insert the scenes that would communicate life’s truths to me? When did he intend to introduce the themes in my life that would hold the story together? The dreams, hopes, accomplishments, joys, visions and yes, even the pain and disappointments?

The reality is, my life, my story, (me) was dreamed of and planned for right from the beginning of time in the imagination of the greatest Author ever. My story began in His mind’s eye. When He began my story, both the first and last chapters were already written. And with great anticipation He allowed me, His main character, to make choices and decisions that would impact my story. His story.

The Bible says: “Before I (God) formed and shaped you in your mother’s womb, I knew all about you. Before you saw the light of day, I chose you. I had holy plans for you and I set you apart for My holy purpose…” (Jeremiah 1:5)

He planned for me to have a story that is worth telling – a story that will matter to someone else. A holy story.

So the question I ask myself today is “Am I living a story worth telling?” Am I living a life that is producing the story that God wants to be told? These questions challenge me that I need to allow God to be author of my life instead of trying to became a character in someone else’s life. And to do that, I will fix my eyes on Jesus and hand Him the pen and see where His story is going to lead.

“So many stories fill the pages of life. Some chapters you can be proud to tell. Others you’d rather skip. The day life really turns the page is when you let God be the author of your story. Let God write your story and you’ll live a story worth telling.” (Unknown)

One thought on “My Story

Leave a Reply

