Faster, higher, stronger

faster higher strongerStrength: 1. The state or quality of being strong.

Strong: 1. Having a force of character, will, morality or intelligence. 2. Having a force of conviction or uncompromising feelings. 3. Having the capacity to withstand force. 4. Solid, tough, firm. 5. Not feeble, faint, fearful or faithless. 6. Not easily defeated or captured. 7. Having strength or power greater than average or greater than what is expected.

Throughout this past year my “one word” came up again and again. At the start of the year I knew God had given me the word “strength”. He promised that as I trusted in Him I would find new strength. I would soar high on wings like an eagle. I would run and not grow weary. I would walk and not faint. As I proclaimed this over my life, that is exactly what happened! Day to day I trusted God and gained new strength. I discovered a type of strength I didn’t know I had and I found out that His strength was made perfect in my weakness (2 Corinthians 12:9).

In 2013 I believe I wrote with new strength. I became more uncompromising in sharing my thoughts, views, opinions and beliefs. Although I had moments of feeling faint, feeble, fearful and faithless I searched for more of God and trusted more in His plans and purposes for my life and in doing so He showed me that I had a power within me and a force of character greater than what I expected or knew that I had. I was pushed, pulled and tested in 2013 but each experience only increased my capacity to withstand force and stand firm and strong.

Now, at the close of 2013, as I sit and reflect on this past year, I realise I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength (Philippians 4:13). But before I run boldly into a new year and leap full speed onto the treadmill that is often my life, I am going to take a moment to pause, breathe, ponder, reflect, stop and digest the important lessons learned from 2013. I don’t want to allow myself to get so obsessed with my “one word” for 2014 that I race off on my next journey down the new path in front of me before stopping and celebrating all that I have achieved this past year. I want to take the time to reflect on this new-found, God-given strength. It is this that will allow me to process what worked well (and what didn’t) before I rush headlong into the next set of challenges that will come before me.

The Olympic motto is made up of three Latin words: “Citius, Altius, Fortius” meaning “faster, higher, stronger” and this summed up my year in 2013. I went faster, I was pushed higher and I became stronger. And in doing so I discovered the most important thing: that as I trusted in God, He gave me an everlasting strength (Isaiah 26:4).

Do you know someone who would be encouraged by this post? Then I would love you to share it! If you like it, please “like” it or leave me a comment here or on Facebook. I cherish your words. Also, if you like what I have to say, you can sign up via email so that you never miss a post. Thanks for reading and “following” me as I journey day to day trusting God. It truly blesses me. Happy New Year everyone! I can’t wait to see what 2014 will bring.

One thought on “Faster, higher, stronger

Leave a Reply

