Empowered

ice cream

Crave: 1. To feel a powerful desire for something. 2. To need urgently. 3. To beg earnestly for.

Empowered: 1. To have the power or authority to do something. 2. To be enabled.

“Blessed (fortunate, happy and spiritually prosperous) are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness (right standing with God) for they will be filled and completely satisfied.” (Matthew 5:6)

As soon as I made the decision to read the book “Made to Crave” by Lysa TerKeurst as part of the Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies I should have known it would be inevitable that I would be tempted to crave all the ‘wrong’ things as soon as I turned the first page. Monday morning came and went and I was doing fine. I was fine at lunchtime. I even passed the 3pm “slump” where I usually either want to sleep or eat something sweet. I was fine until after dinner. Then I had it. I had it bad. The case of the “I-need-something-sweet-after-dinner” munchies. Now. I needed chocolate. Or ice cream. Or chocolate ice cream. Preferably Ben & Jerry’s. Which is an issue because Ben & Jerry’s is not sold in many places here in Australia. I could have reached for a piece of fruit but….yeah right! As if fruit will satisfy my cravings for ice cream!

Then I started thinking that maybe my “tower of impossibility” was bigger than Lysa TerKeurst’s and I berated myself because Lysa must be so much more spiritual than me if she could choose to pray instead of eat.

And I heard it. That little whisper.

God: You’re doing it again.

Me: Doing what?

God: Trying to fill the void, the gap, the ‘lack’ in your life by craving something other than Me.

And I heard it again. Louder this time. Like a mantra playing on repeat inside my head: “Seek first the kingdom of God.” Seek God. Seek God first. Crave God.

The problem is, I’ve discovered I’m up against an enemy. Right from the beginning of time in the Garden of Eden the enemy tried to lure women away from God. When Satan tempted Eve he used the one thing he knew would get her attention. Food. And nothing has changed since then. Like Eve, when I see food, I see that it is good, it is pleasing to my eye and it is desirable. And I want crave it. But rather than taking a moment to consider whether I actually need it, I focus on the food, thinking about it until it becomes the object of my desire and ultimately an obsession. And so I indulge. I give in to the cravings. And then I feel guilty for having these cravings in the first place.

One of the best sentences I read this week was this: “I was made to crave”. As I read these words and allowed the reality of them to wash over me I realised it’s okay to crave. God wants me to crave. He designed me to crave. The issue is however, not what I was made to crave, but Who. Rather than using food to fill the empty spaces in my life, I need to hunger and thirst after God. First. Not food.

“Do not love the world or anything in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For everything in the world – the cravings of the sinful man, the lust of his eyes and the boasting of what he has and does – comes not from the Father but from the world.” (1 John 2:15-16)

As I ponder the first week of this study, I wonder if I have come to that place where Jesus is truly all I want and all I need. If all the chocolate ice cream in the world was taken away, would He be enough to satisfy my cravings?

I have to believe the answer is “yes”. I know He promised that if I crave Him first I will be completely filled and satisfied and just like that, the consuming cycle of cravings can be broken. It just takes step after step of faith.

So this week I pray for more faith! I pray that I develop a craving for Him like never before so that He becomes the object of my desire, not food. And more than anything I pray that He would meet me right here, right now where I stand, and empower me, equip me and enable me by the Holy Spirit to be an overcomer in this area of my life once and for all.

My heart cries out: Oh God, may I never leave Your presence hungry or thirsty again.

“But you belong to God, my dear children. You have already won a victory…because the Spirit who lives in you is greater than the spirit who lives in the world.” (1 John 4:4).

Do you know someone who would be encouraged by this post? Then I would love you to share it! If you like it, please “like” it or leave me a comment here or on Facebook. I cherish your words. Also, if you like what I have to say, you can sign up via email so that you never miss a post. Thanks for reading and “following” me as I journey day to day trusting God. It truly blesses me.

23 thoughts on “Empowered

  1. Thanks so much for sharing! As someone living as an expat, I know all to well how it’s easy to binge on things that I miss from back home. I too have thought to myself that fruit or tea or something else won’t do it for me as well as whatever it is that I’m wanting to scarf down. With you I pray for faith to believe and know the satisfaction of God instead of the empty satisfaction of earthly things. Onwards to the goal before us!

  2. I saw your Ben and Jerry’s picture and knew I had to read this post! I crave the sweet after dinner. I can go all day and be so good, but that is my weak time. I, too often, give in, telling myself that if it is out of the house then I won’t crave it.

    I pray I crave God in the same way I crave ice cream. But I know I don’t. I want the instant gratification. God is the only One who can truly satisfy.

    Blessings to you as you seek to crave God!

    1. Hi Colleen,
      I’m so glad to know I’m not the only one who craves something sweet very night after dinner!
      I too keep asking the Holy Spirit to help me crave more of God and less of ice cream. It’s a daily struggle!
      Blessings to you as you keeping seeking God on this journey.
      Love
      Nicki

  3. What a beautiful inspiring post! Your words reminded me of a verse from the Bible “A word fitly spoken is like apples of gold in pictures of silver.” Proverbs 25:11

  4. “…I realised it’s okay to crave. God wants me to crave. He designed me to crave…” This thought hit me like a ton of bricks, too! After believing cravings were bad for so long, it is freeing to know that I don’t need to fight the feeling of craving, I just have to turn my attention to the “Who”, as you put it, for which my craving was created.

    Thank you for sharing! Check out my #empowered post here: http://www.groundswellministries.org/2014/01/23/on-empowerment-and-choices/

  5. Your words were such a blessing to me today!! Thank you so much for sharing! I have become keenly aware that the enemy is prowling as well. We were given a ‘fasting’ challenge at church and the MINUTE I accepted the challenge, I started craving things that I previously didn’t even have a desire for that were things the fast didn’t allow. Thank you for your encouragement!

    1. Hello Megan
      Isn’t it true the minute we say yes to God the enemy tries to get in front of us.
      So glad my post was an encouragement to you.
      Thanks for taking the time to read it and to share your thoughts.
      I’ll be praying for you too as we journey through this together.
      God bless
      Love
      Nicki

  6. Wow,what a blessed insight you have. Thanks for sharing your struggle and what God is teaching you. It is reassuring that I am not alone on this struggle with my cravings and excuses. Thanks for your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

