I dreamed a dream

chase-catch-dream-big-picture-quote“Go confidently in the direction of your dreams! Live the life you’ve imagined.”

Eight years ago I dreamed a dream. In that dream I was a nurse. Not just any nurse, but an Emergency Nurse. I remember the first day in class at The Gordon when our teacher looked around the class and asked each one of us students what area of nursing we saw ourselves working in. Most people shrugged their shoulders. They had no idea. When it was my turn, my heart was racing and my palms were sweaty as I spoke the words out into the atmosphere – words that had been hidden in my heart for a long time.

“I want to be an emergency nurse.”

Over the years I have studied, studied and then studied some more but the dream never wavered. Sure, there were some unexpected roundabouts and give way signs but I kept going. I kept believing in my dream.

I worked in General Medical, Aged Care, Surgical, General Practice, Rehab, ICU. But I never faltered in my dream. One day I knew I would work in ED.

I never want to sit back in five, ten, twenty years and say “what if…” or “I wonder what would have happened if…” or “I wish I’d done such and such…” I want to at least be able to say I dreamed a dream and I achieved the dream.

And what if I fail? There’s plenty of people who think I will. Some have even been bold enough to declare I’ll hate working in ED! I respect their opinion, but it’s my dream, not theirs.

So, what if I do become an emergency nurse and hate every second of it? But what if I don’t? What if I love it and it fits me like a hand in a glove? I’ll never never know if I never ever go.

So here’s the thing! Today my dream is fulfilled. Today I received the call I have been waiting for, striving for, believing for. As of the 1st of July I am an Emergency Nurse.

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” 

 

3 thoughts on “I dreamed a dream

  1. I dreamed a dream as days go by – you should make it a film and have that music as background. Fabulous news Nicki, so what if it isn’t what you dreamed – you are following that dream; as you say there now cannot be the “what ifs” xx

Leave a Reply

