Dare to Dream

chase-catch-dream-big-picture-quote
Dream: 1. A cherished aspiration, ambition, or ideal. 2. A visionary creation of the imagination.

It’s a big day today. My book baby has been revealed to the world – well, it’s cover has at least! And isn’t it gorgeous?

0914 Intensive Care_Final

I often wondered why authors referred to their books as “babies” but now I can see why. By the time my book gets published and is available to read (22nd January 2015), it will have taken about nine months since I first received a publishing contract – the same time it takes to wait for a baby to come into the world.

And, like all mothers of newborn babies, I happen to think my baby is the most beautiful baby in the world!

Earlier this year I dreamed a dream. I dreamt that I could write a novel! Really, it just started out as something to tick off my bucket list. Even though I never even had a bucket list!! I had an aspiration that burned inside me to write a book, so I started writing. I remember telling my husband that if it never got published, I wouldn’t care because at least I can say “I wrote a book”! Of course, he never believed me! He said he knew I was already dreaming of what the cover looked like and what it looked like to see my name written on the cover of a book! He was right!

Dreams are funny things aren’t they? I’m not talking about the dreams we have while we sleep. I mean the day dreams. The ambitions. The aspirations. The secret wishes we have that we don’t want to admit to anyone. I don’t know about you but sometimes I don’t dare to dream big enough. I allow myself to be contained with what I think I can do rather than dare to dream what God can do in me and through me.

This writing journey has been a wonderful ride so far and I have seen God go before me and open doors. I dared to dream and then I dared to believe the dream might actually happen. And it has. And with the realisation of my dream has come the courage to dream bigger next time.

When people see me walk into the room, I want them to say what Joseph’s brothers said about him: ‘Here comes the dreamer’ (Genesis 37:19).

For more information about my book, check out my Author website here.

4 thoughts on “Dare to Dream

  1. “I don’t dare to dream big enough. I allow myself to be contained with what I think I can do rather than dare to dream what God can do in me and through me.”

    Wow, Nicki! Your words were like a slap in the face this morning. Thanks for the wake-up call. Love to you, Karen

Leave a Reply

